West Fort Hood Travel Camp

Featured
 
4.0 (27)
59413 0 9 0 20

User reviews

13 reviews with 4 stars

27 reviews

 
(8)
 
(13)
 
(2)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0  (27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (27)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (27)
Value 
 
3.9  (27)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
26-28 Feb 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First review for 2017. That said my last review stands. Great folks, clean restrooms/showers. The new section remains 90% nice and clean & 10% NOT. You know what I mean -longtimers w/ trucks being repaired and freezers on cinderblocks, clotheslines, etc. Manager tells me he's kicked out campers in the past who break the rules, abuse the facilities only to have their commander go over his head and get them re-instated, no matter what. Don't mean he's given up but it makes him really need a capital offense to run out those who try & turn this nice newly remodeled FAmCAmp into a trailer park. That said-like I already mentioned , it's a small % here at West Ft Hood. Ft Hood (main Post) facilities make this stop for us a real favorite. And the office WILL save you a space if you're driving in that same day you make the request. NO reservations still (bah humbug) but they really try & help best they can.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
October 2016 - December 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here for a few months while I was preparing to retire.The sites are concrete and level and plenty of room for big rigs.The staff is friendly and do their best to always help. Decent grass area for pets although we still need to train those few owners to pick up after their pets. There was a previous review about some people being here way too long and I agree with that. There is a 90 day waiver that doesn't seem to be enforced and there are some trailers that have collected what I would call "junk" around them making the area appear as "trailer trash." The location is easily accessible from 190 although you have to go through one side security gate only to turn around and come back through another. I would give this location 5 stars if it were in a better location such as near a lake or beach.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
7 Nov-17 Nov 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Back at Ft Hood. Since my last visit (Apr 2016) the new enlarged FamCAmp area has filled up. Back in April, it was still empty. Now every site is full. Rules state that the max stay is 90 days but almost every one of the 64 newly upgraded sites are filled with longer term campers. My neighbor has been here 8 months already. You all know that you can tell the "permanent campers", by the "additions" that are added to their RV sites. None are too junky (yet). The 16 pull-thru's are for "short-termers". All other comments from my last review are still valid. Noteworthy are the very, nice office ladies and super clean bath house.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
11 Apr- 15 Apr
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The 15 mo. renovation of West Ft Hood RV park is over. The "slums" mentioned in the Mar 2014 review are a thing of the past. The pull thru sites are the same but the 60+ back-ins are now paved, spacious, and roomy. The storage fence has been moved so the number of sites have actually  increased by 2. New rates are $20 for pull thru & $14 for back- ins. But No one need fear backing into small, tight spaces. The camp wi-fi is only usable in the lounge and in the 3 or 4 closest back-ins. (Tested it myself). Washers & dryers are $1.00 but worked fine. The new, giant  BX is a Wow!! Ft Hood now has 2 commercial hotels on base, a Chili's restaurant & a Cabela's store in the old BX. So, if you're passing nearby, its a great place to rest up &  re-provision.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
11-14 Mar 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Wow, talk about eye of the beholder. Most recent reviews make West Fort Hood sound like Taj Mahal. If you were staying in the new pull-thru sites and there was a big screening fence (like in a junkyard) between you and the back-ins, you'd undoubtedly agree. The "other side of the fence" is horrible. The lots are close together and appearance is made even worse than would be otherwise because of many long term (homesteading) residents. If you are in one of the 64 back-in sites and want to sit outside on your "patio" you will have a built-in footrest - the neighbors sewer hose. We were in one of the front row sites and had the worst of it (#8). To begin with, for all of the front row sites, you have to back off the pavement into a shallow ditch to get fully into the site. After I backed in I had three inches to spare between our front slide and the lot marker post. On the other side I had a foot and a half between the trailer and a big electric pole - and the neighbor's sewer inlet was five feet from our entry door. Now for the good part: The community room, laundry and bathrooms are new and are being kept in reasonably clean shape. There is WiFi in the community room, and on one occasion I was able to log in from our trailer. The office staff I encountered were super, very helpful and personable, even patient with my grumblings about our lot and the homesteading situation. (There is a meaningless stay limit; extensions are easily obtained for both the pull-thru and back-in sites.) Best news of all: there are plans for the Corps of Engineers to come in and completely gut and rebuild the back-in section. Would I stay there again in the pull-thru section if that was all that was available? Most certainly, at least for a short while. It is conveniently close to the base facilities and price is very reasonable. But that doesn't mean I can put on blinders and give it a "5".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
Jan.9-12, 2013
(Updated: January 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good ole' Ft. Hood. Official policy is no reservations, but they will "hold" a spot for you if you're driving in & there are openings, that day. Sure helps to know you've got a spot at the end of a long drive. Everything's still clean as as well run as ever. Bathhouse/showers spotless, great hot water too. Amenities/Facilities graded 3 due to no wi-fi. I sure wish they'd put in a wi-fi, even if it's in the clubhouse. You can wash your RV in your Famcamp spot. Value is graded a 4 also due to the $18 per night fees. We love it here, don't doubt it. It's just we stay at a lot of great Famcamps that aren't $18. The new Chili's is open on base. Main base gas station has diesel. FYI- the storage yards here are as good as we've seen or used anywhere. Great people and great service. Dumb as it sounds it's pretty much like the guards on gate duty tell you " welcome to the great place". Ft. Hood has everything you'd need on a base and probably 2 of them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
14 Nov-27 Nov 2011
(Updated: November 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were very pleased with our experience here. Main reason for coming here was to visit with our family for the Thanksgiving holiday so we didn't spend alot of time in the RV. Mary and the rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful. A piece of information we could have used prior to our arrival,,,,There's an extremely large asphalt drill yard across from the RV park entrance that can be used for temporary parking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
17 Oct- 19 Oct 2011
(Updated: October 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Back at Ft. Hood again. Same great folks here and same facilities. Since this is the largest US Mil installation in the world and has everything imaginable for the GI, I can't figure out why they can't hook up Wi-Fi for the RV park. Also, the Golden Age Passport discount goes away end of 2011, I just discovered. We like it here; it's our most visited RV park since we store our RV here. Their storage facility is tops. If you're lucky enuff to get a spot here-keep it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
June 2 -14, 2011
(Updated: June 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a two section campground. The newest section is pull-through with roomy sites. There are concrete pads and asphalt patios at each site with a picnic table made of concrete. Sites are slightly high in the front, which makes leveling very easy. There are no trees to block the sun (or satellites). There is cable TV connection at each pedestal, but we didn’t use it. The older section should be called the “sardines in a can” section. All those sites are back-in and very tightly spaced. They are less expensive; but, to me, the savings is not worth it. All RV parks should be designed like the pull-through section of this park. The office, shower, laundry, and lounge appear to be new buildings and are attractively lighted at night. The lounge is incomplete in my opinion. The TV doesn’t appear to work (snowy picture) and is inconveniently placed. There is a computer area, but no internet connections, and there is no WiFi. There is a small refrigerator, but no oven/range or microwave. One nice amenity is an ice machine outside the office building (all parks should have ice machines). The bathroom fixtures resemble prison fixtures (I’ve been told :-) ). The toilets are stainless steel including a stainless steel seat. The shower heads are also prison-like, except the handicapped shower, which has a shower wand. There is plenty of hot water. There is a playground and picnic area under gnarly, yet picturesque, oak trees near the pull-through section. There is a grassy dog walk area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
30 April - 2 June, 2011
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Run the negatives first, they need a on site host/manager that is a full timer. The park lacks wifi and the pull through spots have weak water pressure and the laundry needs more space/machines. The park otherwise is spotless, the ice machine is a great idea, the restrooms are always clean as is the laundry. Value wise the back in spots are geared toward long term stays and has a waiting list, the pull through spots are going to be great once the trees are grown up, but are very level and have ample room to maneuver in. Overall the best option (short of BLORA) in the immediate Fort Hood area. Also the stay limits are easy to deal with as the park is busy but rarely full on the pull through side, we got approval for 2 extra weeks by asking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
28 Mar - 01 Apr 2010.
(Updated: April 04, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very nice RV park. It's like 2 different parks. The "back in sites" are so tight, we feared having to try & back in. It's really only a paved parking lot with hookups. Barely 6 feet between RV's. We were put in the pull thru's, which are on the other side of the park. They're really different. Large sites, very far from your next door neighbor, grassy between. Our 25 ' TT had no problems with the hookups/W/E/S. These are for shorter stays, but who cares? Stay here or look else where. Bathhouses, lounge, laundry, etc. were spotless. Tons of real hot water in the showers. Office staff was great too; very helpful & friendly. The RV park has no official wi-fi, but I'm online now from someone's nearby connection (thanks). The cable TV package is better (bigger) than my cable TV pkg at home. Ft. Hood has EveryThing. What a huge base. Finally found diesel at the AAFES station on TJ Mills Blvd. (it's the road coming in from the "Main/biggest" Ft. Hood gate. All-in-all, a very nice place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As previously mentioned, pay attention to getting your RV checked at the north gate. It's easy to do. We stayed in a new pull-thru site. This section is MUCH nicer than the older section. LOTS more room. This RV park was much nicer and larger than I expected. Don't know why I had lower expectations. We enjoyed our short visit. Office staff was very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
4 March 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Since the last time here (2007) they have added 15 new pull through sites. These sites are long and quite a bit of space between them. The only draw back is all the utilities are in the back part of the site. They do have a cement picnic table on each site. The cost of the pull throughs are $17.00 a night but that is still a deal. Note - you must go in the North gate first to be xrayed. Here, security will check your ID before proceeding. The next guy will check your drivers license before you proceed through the xray. Then, as you leave, you honk to the gate guard and he will call the other gate to let them know you have been xrayed otherwise, they will not let you in.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
13 results - showing 1 - 13