West Fort Hood Travel Camp

Featured
 
4.0 (27)
60212 0 9 0 20

User reviews

8 reviews with 5 stars

27 reviews

 
(8)
 
(13)
 
(2)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0  (27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (27)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (27)
Value 
 
3.9  (27)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
1-3 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
So, it's been a year since the last review someone made and things have changed. This is a beautiful, clean and friendly travel camp. People are friendly, even the "homesteaders." No trash laying about, no trucks or cars on blocks, no unsightly camp sites. That said, there are only a hand full of sites available for over nights or weekly visits. Sites that are available are well spaced and level. Definitely make reservations!. We stayed 2 nights. If you have the time, visit the museums on base. The history is well worth it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
31 Dec 2013 - 3 Jan 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
No reviews for Ft. Hood in 2013? Hard to believe. We arr'd on NY's eve to take our TT out of storage, shakedown for a few days and then head out. The folks in the office were so friendly & kind. Good to be back in Texas !! We were disappointed to find the Short-term (traveling RV'ers) paved, pull-thru sites were all full. After taking the TT out of storage I did not want to drive 25m to Ft. Hood's BLORA. Rhonda told me that they had several "PCS-ers, long-term" back-in sites avail, so I went & looked. They are mostly so packed in tight and on opposite sides of narrow aisles. I was pleased to find there were 2 openings on the front row (spots 1-15). Huge road, no across the street RV's and much wider spots. We're close to the spotlessly clean laundry/club/bathhouse too. For a few days it will be just fine. So now we know some back-ins are suitable for us. Big news, Ft.Hood (West) has internet now. Ft. Hood Travel is on the air, and it's working fine. Don't know how long it's been "up", since you other members haven't been reviewing Ft. Hood during 2013. (hint, hint-pls submit reviews. It really helps) The free ice machine that we grew to love so was gone last visit, but it is back. It's inside the lounge now, doubtless to prevent unauthorized users getting all their ice. Anyway-free ice after storage here is a real treat for us. Free Wi-Fi & free ice!! I'm a happy customer. Oh yeah, Larry - back-in sites are $12.50 now, not $10.50.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Oct 19, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
B.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Arrived Friday after noon and went through the security at the Clark Road Commercial Gate. Also through out the base a ID was required. No problem as we have them. Its good to see them checking as I don't have anything to hide.Only site left was in the older part and boy its small. Marcus was the one who checked us in and I ask him if a site in the newer section came open if I could get one. Next day He call me and offered me one, I took it and moved. Spacious and clean, We have enjoyed our stay. Its our second trip here and now both times stayed in newer section. Commissary and PX were both visited. Diesel is available on base at one of the convenient stores. Note Diesel is also available at the Harker Heights WalMart store which is east on 190, just east of Killeen about a mile toward Temple TX. Price is much Cheaper. Note as usual you have to be carefully because entrance and exits are not to large.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
27 Mar-1 Apr 2011
(Updated: April 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What's going on RV'ers ? Don't tell me that I'm the only one to use Ft. Hood since Jan of this yr. If you're reading this- pls, pls put in your own rating after using a military RV facility. I want to/need to, read your write-ups as I travel around. Please ? Ok. `Nuff said. West Ft. Hood is still spotlessly clean, handy to use, staffed by friendly folks, & surrounded by the best post/base facilities in the US. The big news is that since my last report the free ice machine at the office has been removed for maintenance. That's it. If you're a user of free wi-fi like me, try the Pizza Hut on post. Or use the Post library. If you're heading to Ft. Hood, call ahead to check on openings and they will hold a place for you, for that day only. It's almost a reservation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27Jan 2011
(Updated: January 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Looks like the first review of 2011. We store our RV here so we get to stay on Ft. Hood alot. Same great RV park. The facilities are spotless, and staff is friendly. If not for the Wi-Fi that they "haven't got", I wouldn't have a thing to ask for. Don't forget to use your America the Beautiful/Golden Access card for $5 discount. And as for Ft. Hood, what it lacks, you just don't need. For example, there is a new Chili's restaurant being constructed across from the Main base Gas Station (the one w/ Diesel) on TJ Mills Avenue. What a base !
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov 20 - 26, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.E, left this review using the Directory software: Arrived at this campsite in November and found the site was one of the new pads that they had. I was placed on site 4 and the help from the personnel on duty was outstanding. The location and facilities were outstanding. Close to base exchange and commissary. The only thing they did not have was wi-fi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 22 - 25, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As I read the previous ratings I did not fully appreciate how close the RV's are placed in the back-in spots until we actually arrived and saw for ourselves. They are so close that you could probably prop your feet on your neighbor's sewer line. I feel very fortunate that there was availability in the pull thru area as they are very spacious.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The previous review is right on for facts. But, somewhat off in expectation. The West Fort Hood RV Park is just what it appears to be... an RV Park. They don't pretend to be a resort. If your looking for an RV resort... go to the Belton Lake Outdoor Recreation Area (BLORA), just down the road. It costs a lot more too. The West Fort Hood RV Park is a very reasonable place to park and serve as a base of operations. I paid $8.25 (w/Golden Age Passport), a day, for a week's stay. And they have all the basic requirements... a quality bathhouse and restroom facility. A modest playground for children. Full hookups (water, sewer, electricity, basic cable). Laundry facilities. A TV and game room. No wireless though (no problem, I set up my StarBand system). Also, diesel is available on the main post, at the station by the main gate. It appears to be about nickle cheaper that the economy. All in all, our experience was extremely pleasant. The only negative that comes to mind is that you should try to get on a row that is away from the main road. It get quite noisy when folks are going to work in the mornings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
8 results - showing 1 - 8