Fort Belvoir Travel Camp

 
3.6 (33)
50406   3   6   2   29

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

33 reviews

 
(9)
 
(8)
 
(10)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
4.3  (33)
 
3.6  (33)
 
2.6  (33)
 
3.5  (33)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2017

Staff was friendly and the location well maintained. The Internet access was hit and miss and when it worked, it was not very fast. There is cable TV but we did not use it so I can't speak to how good it was. There was a few piles of dog poop on our site as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

02 JAN 2017

Camp is clean and well maintained. When they poured the concrete for the pads they didn't bother leveling them. Pricey. Wifi internet is atrocious. Plan on using your cell service internet in a $50 a day camp!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 26-31, 2016

When traveling from the south on I-95 and using exit 161 be advised there is a bridge that has a 13'4" clearance.  We made it through and our clearance is 13'6".  The FamCamp was clean but the dumpster area was not, trash everywhere not in the dumpster.  Wifi exist but not good enough for anything but email.  The base was very clean and the new PX was amazingly large.  Overall the site was to expensive for a military campground but no doubt it is based on location location location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

7-8 August 2014

We have family at Fort Belvoir and decided to stay here rather than Andrews on our way through after vacationing the summer with our granddaughter. I didn't expect a problem getting a spot as we were here last year and there were only a handful of campers...SURPRISE...we got the last site for two nights and then had to move for the third night (and those sites were to "premium" water front - although they aren't premium - no views). I don't know the exact percentage, but there are a number of permanent party (active duty) full-time campers with obvious signs of permanent occupancy (storage, large outdoor grills, etc). If you know you are coming to the area you had best plan 90 days out in order to get a reservation...we were told by one of the full-time campers that they don't have to vacate after 90 days as long as they "renew". I told the outdoor rec personnel that the park was starting to look like a trailer park rather than a travel camp with all the clutter around the sites and was told that they couldn't do anything about it due to "upper management".

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2014

This RV Park is nice but I think with a little extra time and attention from Belvoir staff, it could be a lot better. The rates was rather steep $40 a night for a military campground. Due to the shortage of staff, there is a (new) building as you enter campsite that is closed. This is a gorgeous log cabin building that is not being used. This building could house wood, camping need items, etc. I like the fact I was close to the DC area but other than that there is not a lot to due on this campsite especially for children. I camped here in a travel trailer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Nov 19, 2013

Love the fact that the USA put a great piece of property to good use! Can't believe that the Contracting Officer did not consult an NCO to figure out how to design an RV Park. Appalled at the poor engineering design of this facility! What is the real problem - the utilities are on the wrong side of the pads. They advertise a view but if you want to see the river you need to bring an extension cord and a few extra feet of fresh water hose. I certainly understand the high prices but if you want to charge our young troops a ton of coin then you must do your engineering homework. Highly recommend that FB either re-engineer their facility or reduce the price to our young service members and retired community.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

26 Jul - 2 Aug, 2013

S.C. left this review using the Directory software: - A very nice park, but expensive. On several visits to friends staying there, only 4 to 7 sites were occupied. A brand new park and not all concrete pads are level. Sewer is towards rear of pad and electrical/water/cable are more towards the center or front of pad. Personally, not worth $60 a night for a military campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

22 - 24 July 2013

We stayed in a 40 ft Motorhome. Nice large stops, the access to electric and cable is at the front of the site, it should be more to the middle. Did see one of the contractors and mentioned the electrical box issue. The Travel Camp will be much nicer when the trees grow a bit more. And yes, the price of $60.00 is a bit much, but maybe the price will go down in a few years. There are cheaper places but you don't always get 50 amp and when it is 100 degrees you need all the air you can get. Now that this new camp is posted maybe more people will stay. We heard it from a fellow camper we met at Wright-Patterson. Would stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

17 May, 24 May, 31 May, and 7 June, 2013

We were the first big rig campers at the Belvoir Travel Camp. We arrived on 17 May for the weekend and have spent the following 3 weekends there. While we agree with the earlier comments, we remain optimistic this Travel Camp will improve. It is our understanding the campsite was in the planning stage for 13 years and, sadly, the planner was not a camper/RV'er. The current director and her staff inherited a nightmare and are working hard to make the camp a destination. They are responsive to customer inquiries/suggestions, eager to assist, and are commited to improving the camp. Yes, they have a long way to go but we remain confident they will do it. Each weekend we return, we notice improvements. Interestingly, the director does/did not have authority to establish the price (it was/is determined elsewhere by non-camp staff/bureaucrats) but, sadly, the director is faced with defending the price. Not an easy task. Be patient and give them a chance to improve. We hope the Department of the Army MWR office will take note of the high price and its negative effect on the MWR of our enlisted Service Members. On a side note, even though the pads are concrete, be prepared for leveling challenges. And, unbelievably, if you want to use the brand new fire pits, be prepared to go to the fire station to get a permit. Yes, that is wacky but again, we remain optimistic this, too, will change for the better.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2 June 2013

I drove to the campground to check it out. It is in a scenic location but when I called the MWR they confirmed $60 a night. I filled in the ICE comment card about the price being so high and I recieved the following from the outdoor rec director: "I am sorry for your disappointment in our price at the Fort Belvoir Travel Camp. This is a brand new facility and is a revenue generating business for Family and Morale, Welfare and Recreation at Fort Belvoir. The price was set after we compared other local and military campgrounds. Our prices are higher than our local competitors as we offer services, amenities and location above and beyond what anyone else has to offer. When determining price for our Travel Camp we did do lots of research, site visits and comparisons with the local military, regional, state and private Campgrounds. Many of our competitors that we compared to offer basic sites with gravel, 30 AMP electric hook-up, most site are without sewer and only a few have cable and WiFi. To better explain why our price is $60.00 per night here are our amenities and site specs. Each of our sites are brand new with a view of the Potomac River. Each site is made of concrete, the length is 40 feet long and each pad is 20 feet wide and include a 10ft by 10ft concrete extension with a picnic table. For RVs larger than 40ft we have Pull thru spaces that have an additional 12ft on both ends for your one additional vehicle at no additional charge. Each site also includes: water, 50 AMP electric hook-ups, sewer, cable, WiFi, a picnic table, and a BBQ Grill fire pit. The travel camp is gated with a brand new private shower and restroom accommodations. Within the same building there is a coin operated laundry facility. We do not charge anything extra for additional persons, vehicles or services. The Fort Belvoir Travel Camp is located within Tompkins Basin along the Potomac River. Each site has a great view of the Potomac River. The location of the travel camp and our close proximity to the DC metropolitan area make us a perfect tourist/vacation destination. Fort Belvoir is a 10 minute drive to Mount Vernon and only 20 miles from downtown DC. The travel camp is located in a perfect location that offers miles of trails, two new ADA accessible fishing piers and a recreational day use park with a playground, volleyball net, picnic area and a small beach. DFMWR at Fort Belvoir also has swimming pools, golf course, field houses, gyms, Auto Shop, Arts and Craft shop, framing shop and a bowling alley to enjoy during your stay. Other amenities on post include a movie theater, PX, Home and Garden & Commissary shopping, Spa and other recreational opportunities that are comparable to the local private campgrounds and far exceeds the other local military campgrounds. We also have mass transit that will take you to the metro or into DC if you are interested in those services during your stay. We encourage you to come visit our facility at any time and take a tour with us prior to making your decision that we are too pricey. We think you will be impressed with this brand new facility and hopefully you will change your mind about the value." While these are some valid points I don't think they justify a rate that is 3 times higher than say Cheatham Annex, near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens or Sea Mist at Virginia Beach, both with new sites and facilities. Sigh.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10