Holiday Park FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (37)
76122   1   5   1   18

User reviews

37 reviews

 
(13)
 
(14)
 
(6)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.4  (37)
 
3.4  (37)
 
4.1  (37)
 
3.9  (37)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
37 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 12-30, 2017

It's a shame that Holiday Park is not maintained because it is a naturally beautiful park. There was no maintenance man on site from the beginning of December to mid-February, and nobody picked up his duties. The bathooms were constantly filthy, and so were the common areas - there's mold, mud, fecal matter, you name it. There is also no heat in the clubhouse, so the only things you are really paying for are your spot to camp and hot water in a disgusting shower. The park manager, Amanda Anderson, ignored any complaints, and she and the camp hosts habitually called paying customers homeless liars, also telling the MPs to step up patrols. I understand that, being part of a huge metroplex with a proportionally huge homeless population, they have had issues here with homeless vets, but it is extremely degrading and unprofessional for the management to go around assuming that everybody else here is in the same boat. Your money is better spent somewhere else, but don't bother with the Fort Lewis campground because it is run by the same people and is just as trashy. I know these camps are pretty low on a base's priority list, but there are active and retired service members staying here - I thought we were a country that respected their military? Shame on JBLM MWR. Oh yeah, not to mention there are hazardous materials that have never been secured the entire time we've been here. There are children staying at this park too! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

June 10 - June 20, 2017

The directions are accurate, but ONLY if you are a smaller rig. The drive through the main gate is too curvy for big rigs (we are 45') and there is a sign when you get close that says nothing over 37' in that entrance. By the time we got to the sign, it was too late to get out. They had to hold up traffic, we had to unhitch the tow vehicle and then it took two gate guards to help us maneuver through. We were told there is a commercial entrance that takes you into Fort Lewis and then there is a bridge over to McChord. We found that the larger sites were in general overgrown, indicating poor maintenance. I had to chop weeds away from the service pedestal in order to hook up the water, sewer and electric. TV channels depend on where you are located. The area for smaller rigs had was open enough that TV service, but the area where larger rigs park was so surrounded by trees that we were not able to acquire any TV channels. Next year we plan to stay at a commercial park. Do not plan to come back to McChord 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 27 - August 10, 2017

Only one person works in the very small office. He was very helpful, but no one else answers the phone when he's not at his desk. Roads are a bit tight, but can be managed with some care. No satellite TV possible as there are tall trees everywhere, but we got over 20 over-the-air channels with our roof antenna. There's also only limited internet at the office and 'clubhouse'. Those negatives aside, the park is very clean, well located and quiet even though near the end of McChord's runway. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 28-29, 2016

The front office staff was not welcoming, very unfriendly and could not answer my questions. We were dry camping and needed to fill our water tanks. He insisted that everyone used the non-potable water at the dump. I asked him if he could call and ask someone if there was a place to find potable water. He could not. But, he did point me in the direction of the maintenance person, who thought it was in another location, which we did find. He just had a very unwelcoming attitude. Otherwise, we found the campground clean and it is good value in a lovely area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 21-28 2016

I was glad to see harrylouis update pricing. The weather was great so we did dry camp. The laundry and bathrooms are kept clean. $.75 /load of laundry. They sometimes take your quarters so let the office know. Nice shade trees and an awesome place to walk and ride bikes. Call for reservations this campground fills.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 8 - 16, 2016

There are two things to update about Holiday Park. First, they do accept reservations, and secondly, the daily rates increased on 1 May 2016. The new rates are: 50A/W/S = $24, 30A/W/S = $22, Yurts = $20, Dry = $10, Tent = $8. We cannot do a better job of describing the Park than the davidrenne review from July, 2014. We might add that the lack of cable or satellite TV gives you a great opportunity to catch-up on your reading or watching your favorite DVD’s. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Summer 2014 and 2015

HOMESTEADERS get the boot at JBLM !  Good !!  Read article stripes.com   "Joint Base Lewis-McChord tells long-term residents to pull up stakes"  Dated  27 May 2016.  About time homesteaders are kicked out.  FamCamps are not housing.   Glad they kicked them out!  GOOD! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2014

An interesting solution has been implemented at McChord, which I will come back to below. Concerning the park itself, if you like full hookups and paved roads all in spectacularly tall fir trees, this is your place. The camp staff is friendly and helpful, particularly Ron. Office is closed on Sundays & Mondays but there is an on-site host (although the office phone is not answered). A few nice dry-camping sites in the woods are also available ($5 per night) along with overflow parking in an open field; some of these sites are used by campers waiting for a full-hook site. The park isn't perfect, there are usually a few inop machines in the laundry for example, but the deep woods scenery is just beautiful. The solution I mentioned is towards discouraging homesteaders. You can stay as long as you want at the McChord FamCamp but NOT IN THE SAME SITE. Max is 14 days in any one camp site in the summer (28 days in the winter). Reservations are not accepted but a wait-list for full hookup sites is maintained. If you show up and no site is available, you will almost always get one within a few days. This way the park is well utilized but homesteaders are discouraged because they would have to move their stuff at least every 14 days and there might be no site available after their last day. (They can't get on the wait-list until after they check out). This system is reasonably easy to enforce and it seems to work. Maybe other parks should consider this...!

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • McChord-Pamphlet-2014
    2 MB
    845
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2013

We camped here in the month of July 2013. We stayed in the over flow for a week. Overflow was our choice, we are from CA and have solar panels on our RV. The campgrounds seems pretty laid back. It was a great location for discovering the Seattle area. Thank you FamCamp. Beth & Pat

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 16-18, 2013

T.L. left this review using the Directory software: - I enjoyed my stay. The manager was personable and very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2012-March 2013

I thoroughly disagree with the previous post. I have stayed at Holiday park many times since 2006. We are full timers and have traveled all over the country and stay in military RV parks when there is one in the vicinity. Since we are from the Pacific Northwest we most frequently stay at Fort Lewis, McChord, or Camp Murray. The Holiday park campground has some particular advantages. The setting is beautiful. Those trees that were complained about are mainly Douglas Fir. Some are several hundred years old and exceed 100 feet in height. They are majestic. It is like staying in a an enchanted forest. There are deer and other wildlife and a great variety of birds. Yes, you do get pine needles in everything, but if you want to stay here you accept that, or go somewhere else. The Pacific Northwest is known for big windstorms in October and November. If the winds are going to exceed 50 mph the park staff has always told everyone to leave, because limbs do fall, and occasionally even trees. But most of the time it is perfectly Safe. If the poster had seen this park in the past they would not be complaining. The showers were disgusting, Now they are completely redone, and clean. The laundry has new washers and driers. The electrical was only 30 amp. Only half the park had sewer. Now all the regular sites have full hook ups with 30 and 50 amp service. I used to have to make a run to the dump site every 3 or 4 days. That is no longer necessary. One loop is much lower than the rest of the park and would regularly flood during heavy rains. I once had to wade through six inches of water to get to higher ground. That has been fixed. There is now a sump pump to get rid of the water. The Club house was an old building that was cold and smelled bad. It was taken down and a new one built. It has TV, lots of videos and books, and in the last few weeks they added WI-FI, but it is only in the club house. That makes sense because the trees would block the signal. TV reception has always been bad here because of the trees, and good luck getting a SAT TV signal. Cell reception is spotty, but in some sites is very good. The staff, particularly Ron and Maggie have always gone out of their way to help when I needed it. They have one other assistant. They do a good job considering it is only three people. Yes they don't normally mow the grass in the winter because it rains a lot. (I mean, a lot!) They do attempt to clean up branches and debris after storms, but in the winter it is a never ending job. Since Ron took over a few years ago the park has improved significantly. The blackberries do grow wild in the summer. That is true all over the Pacific Northwest. It makes for good berry picking. The park staff do cut them back as needed. Occasionally dogs here are off leash, which I do not like, and some of the big dogs can be intimidating. But they should be on a leash. There are coyotes on McChord and small dogs could be easily killed by them. However, whenever a particular pet has gotten out of hand a word to Ron has usually solved the problem. McChord also has an off leash dog park where people can run their dogs. The electrical system was upgraded a few months ago, and they did have some power outages. One was a general outage for the whole Lakewood area. But that's why we have generators. If you live in an RV you deal with it. The only reason I gave them a 3 in amenities, and value has nothing to do with the staff. Rather, with the management. Yes they raised the price. it went from $300 to $504 for 28 days. I have stayed at RV "resorts" for less than that. All three parks here did this. These parks are supposed to be for the benefit of active duty and retired personnel with active duty having top priority. But how many junior active duty enlisted can afford that price? It seems to me that the contractors running the parks are only interested in their profit margin. This is not because of only the daily price increase. They also increased prices for storage and limited the number of vehicles you can have. They seem to be extremely slow in updating facilities, and providing adequate personnel to maintain the parks. Simple things like cleaning the common areas are subcontracted and done only a couple days a week. When equipment breaks down it seems to take weeks to get it repaired. Overall I would rate this park as a good value, but would have called it very good value under the previous price. I would stay here any time. Compared to Fort Lewis or Camp Murray: the park itself isn't as modern as Fort Lewis but the facilities and amenities are better than Camp Murray. The staff at Holiday park is far more helpful and friendly than at Fort Lewis and about the same as Camp Murray. These three are all about the same price now but Camp Murray still has a slightly lower price. Overall experience is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

August 2012-February 2013

The showers here are disgusting, and dirty!!! The facility manager NEVER cleans them. In fact, the facility maintenance personnel here NEVER clean anything. The berry briars and grass grow out of control, in a 5 month period they mowed the grass one time. The trees drop HUGE limbs on your rig due to the park NEVER cutting the limbs, and also the pine needles get in every crevice of your RV and your car. BE PREPARED to step in dog crap all day since the manager does not regulate the animal policy. There is supposed to be a leash law here in the park, but that is not enforced. Dogs run wild and POOP everywhere. My 4 has gotten dog crap on him numerous times from playing outside and tripping in it. The water and power go out here unexplainable all the time! The park had a electrician come out and mess with the power box and do maintenance, and my neighbor's dog ended up getting shocked with an INSANE amount of voltage going through his rig. The electrician came over and said he did not know what could have caused that, and all the electrician said was, "That is not good!". If you are going to stay here, this better be your last resort, or make it a short visit! Also, the rates just went up to $504 dollars a month for a terrible park with no benefits to stay here. Plus the $504 dollars only covers a 28 day stay. When I questioned the park manager why the price had DOUBLED, he told me the JBLM wants to make money off the campers for what they updated. All I can say to that is, "What updates???" This park is charging way more than a good park with amenities such as a pool, hot tub, and clean. Oh and I almost forgot. Right out of the front gate on Bridgeport you will see drug deals, gang activity, crime, and the police are constantly arresting people. The only safe place in the area is on base. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE... Good RV parks include: Rainier View-Graham, WA, Cedar Glen-Poulsbo, WA, Eagle Tree-Poulsbo, WA. These are just a few in the area. If you want a good vacation, take your RV to Astoria-Seaside, OR and stay at a RV park on the coast.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Sept-Oct 2012

The campground has been upgraded with full service as well as 50 amp (instead of 30amp) in the loop. They freshened up grounds. However we tried 3 times after it reopened going up/back/thru Washington and it appears that with the good price it has now become 'homestead haven' and we were not able to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June - July 2012

HEADS UP: the MCChord Fam Camp will be CLOSED during the McChord Air Show July 2012. Over the years Roy has done a great job of improving the McChord FamCamp. June-July 2012 the bathhouse/laundry room is closed. It is being redone and will be a great improvement. The Fam Camp will be closed for the McChord Air Show believe dates are 20 - 23 July. Check Joint Base Lewis-McCord's web page for information regarding the Air Show. ALL RVers from the FamCamp will be moved to the McChord Commissary parking lot. The McCord camp ground will be closed and off limits to everyone during the Air Show. The upper RV camping area (the upper loop) are being up graded to include 50A service. All RV spaces have E/S/W now. Only problem is the old crusty "volunteer" who hangs around the office and camp ground. He needs to improve his attitude and customer relations. He is NOT a MWR employee or a host. But, acts like he is. Ron told us that he, the crusty old guy, has helped fix many things at the camp ground. But, this does not excuse his being rude to people and making comments that are out of line about camper's dogs, tent campers, children etc. Again he is not employed there and should keep his mouth shut. To clarify: Ron is the manager and he has done many great things to improve the camp ground. Roy is the old crusty guy who hangs around Ron. Roy needs to improve his customer skills and refrain from making rude comments regarding camper's dogs, kids, etc. Roy is not an employee at the camp ground. Nor, is he a host. But he acts like he runs the place. Another wanna be. Since campground has been taken over by Fort Lewis, Ron (the manager) is waiting for the day for the prices to go up. I have to agree with him..the price will go up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 10 - 19, 2012

We returned to the FamCamp after a seven month absence. My previous comments about not being to keep your cargo trailer on (W/E) sites have been changed, so the rating has been raised from 3 to 5 accordingly. The shower floors are still in the same condition so they remain a 3. The January ice/snow storm that hit the Seattle area did massive tree damage here. Roy is working hard daily to have the camp restored to its beautiful appearance by the spring. WiFi is available 7 days a week at the food court, six days a week at the library. I was told Burger King also has it but have not verified that. My T-Mobile cell phone worked fine from site 23. If you have a data package with your cell phone you should have WiFi on site. I love the location, staff and base amenities and will return here whenever in the area. All parking lot style FamCamps could learn a lot by studying this operation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 18 - July 11, 2011

I enjoyed our stay at this famcamp. The reason that I marked Cleanliness down was because both the men's and women's showers need funds invested into them for upgrading. The floor in both need work. Also the women's has problem draining. The Facilities were marked down because we were not allowed to keep our 8 foot tag along trailer on our site, or within sight. As a 20' long van we need the extra storage. The two combined equal 30 feet in length, shorter than most coaches. We were informed that we could not keep our trailer on site (#31), (W&E), because in case of a fire we might not be able to get out. I agree that limits need to be placed on trailers, because some people go overboard when combining long trailers with Coaches or long Class C's. The rule says ALL cargo trailers need to be in the main storage area BUT boat trailers and toads are able to be kept on site. GO FIGURE! We love the (W&E) sites being set back into the trees and separated by vegetation. We have stayed in plenty of parking lot style rv parks, this is a pleasant change. We had plenty of deer and sighted coyotes. We will be back. If you are here the night of July 4th, we recommend the fireworks display at Fort Lewis. We will be back any time we have a reason to be in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6/8 to 6/11, 2011

This is a great bargain @ $13/night. We stayed in the section with only W/E. Very private, lots of big trees (no sunlight gets through) and very peaceful setting. When we arrived no one was around so we took one of the sites available on the board and registered the following morning. Staff was helpful. Verizon cell phones and wi-fi worked well. No Direct tv - too many tall trees. Didn't use the showers/bathrooms. Laundry is VERY small (the room) with 3 washers and 3 dryers and heavily used. More than one person in there and you're falling over one another. No maps are available for the base and if you're a first time user it's difficult to find your way around. Good facilities on base when you do find them. We put our rig in storage on the field @ the park - $1/day. Great if you're taking a cruise from Seattle. Our mail disappeared and the host left a message on my phone and he held the mail until our return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 13-15, 2011

Great location, beautiful surroundings and a good value for the money. Unfortunately when we went to use the bathroom facilities we were shocked at their condition. They are in desperate need of an upgrade! The facility is obviously very popular, with enough suitable land to where additional RV spaces with full-hookup could be easily created.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 23 to July 2, 2010

This campground is a good value. Its few shortcomings are offset by the low price. It is basically two campgrounds. The 19 sites with sewer connection are located in a tight loop and spaced relatively close together. The remaining sites are water and electric only and are located in a more heavily forested section with thick vegetation between widely separated sites. This vegetation needs to be periodically trimmed as it encroaches on the site. Bring pruning shears if you plan to stay in the partial hookup sites. The trees make satellite reception (TV or Internet) difficult if not impossible. About 10 dry camping sites are located throughout the campground and an overflow area shares a large open field with RV storage. If you must have satellite reception, this is the only option. When the planes are not flying, the campground is a quiet, peaceful setting. Most of the time, it has been quiet but one evening was the exception – lots of takeoffs that lasted until midnight. And the campground is less than 400 yards from the end of the runway. Little or no effort to maintain the sites. The picnic table surface was coated in crud falling from the trees. Vegetation and trees around campsites need to be trimmed. Lots of ants at many sites. Campers are using Ajax to sprinkle around their site perimeter but the ants don’t seem too impressed. But the Ajax creates an unsightly mess. There is a nice laundry with 3 washers and 3 dryers. Bathhouse and restroom were in good condition but had not been cleaned on the day of my observation. A small mobile home houses a lounge area with a small library with books, magazines, VCR tapes, and DVDs for check out. Verizon air card signal is strong with a download speed of 800k bps. Retirees can now use the base dining facilities. BX and commissary are less than 2 miles away. When entering the base with an RV, base security makes a cursory inspection of the interior and exterior bays. A previous reviewer though he was being treated like a terrorist – to me it was a standard, simple, quick inspection.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 27 to Oct. 25, 2009

Enjoyed our partial hook-up site as previous review says-flat black top in the trees. Lots of dog walking area and recycling at campground (more on base). No diesel on base and can't use chow hall however lots of shopping on the base! Accessible to Ft. Lewis and Mt. Rainer and sites in Tacoma and not that far to Seattle. Verizon Internet was fine and I hear those with satellite often park in the dry-camp area so receive reception. If you chose to tent camp the restrooms are a distance though! Will definitely return to further investigate the area!

Was this review helpful to you? 
37 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2