Monterey Pines RV Campground

 
3.6 (83)
152078 0 20 1 53

User reviews

83 reviews

 
(19)
 
(26)
 
(27)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.4  (83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (83)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (83)
Value 
 
3.4  (83)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
01 Sep 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
My family and I have been camping here for years without any issues. That streak of great experiences ended recently when the manager of the campground kicked my family (wife and young children) and friends out due to a simple “parking issue”. All could’ve been avoided if proper communication was conducted and maybe some little respect/consideration from management, but that was unfortunately not the case. Not only were we rudely approached, but he belittled me as a service member by comparing my rank to his father (yup, not his rank BUT his father’s) stating I’m “only an E6 and should’ve known better” and his dad was a Chief. Lastly, he also made it known how we “bothered” his golf day so he stood there in front of us like a slave master and did not budge until we left while he was yelling and being rude in front of the children. What a way to treat your customers, Active Duty and young children. Very disappointed with how we have people like this man working in our facilities and treating people with disrespect. As much as we love supporting DoD facilities, we will never go back to this campground and I hope disciplinary actions are conducted towards this manager. I have his name, but decided to not post publicly out of the little respect I have left for him.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Aug 24-29, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
After reading some of the reviews, I was a little skeptical about this facility! Well, I was pleasantly surprised! Yes, some of sites are a little tight getting into, but nothing in my opinion, like some of like the potential woes expressed by some reviewers. We’re in site 12 with a 38’ class “A”. Got in with one attempt. Only had to maneuver a little for rooftop satellite dish to get a clear shot at the sky, no big deal! Have a lot of space between our neighbors. Some sites are closer. The lay out of the sites are odd, but any reasonably skilled driver, it should be no problem getting in and out. Some reviewers have complained about prices, well the only civilian RV Park I found online, in the Monterey area was in Carmel and it was $100 a night, if you could get in the week before Labor Day! I would rate the noise level as quiet. A few planes every so often landing or taking off, but we find it as no big deal! We’re fully self contained, so we don’t use the park bathroom facilities. The golf course looks very inviting and I plan to use it. My son, who is here TAD, said the golf course at the old Army base is nice, too. A great Greek Restaurant, if you’re interested, Epsilon! Last dine there was 2004 and it’s still great! The site seeing opportunities abound, as many have said! We’d come back in a heartbeat to this CG!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17-18 June 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Pleasant scenery but directly adjacent to Monterey Airport. Better like airplanes! Narrow roads and some obtrusive branches require close inspection before moving a longer rig into a space. We had to move before we could settle in. We have a Progressive surge protector on our coach and it didn't like the taste of the 30 amp power in two different boxes, so we went without electricity for an evening (low voltage warning); however, it recovered in the morning. Tight spaces and driveway made a bit of a challenge for our 35' + toad. Overall, ok.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
01-03 Jun 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here in early Jun 2019 for two days. Most of the sites are small, irregular in shape, not particularly level, with plenty of trees providing shade (and clearance issues for larger rigs). The Famcamp is surrounded by the Monterey Pines Golf Course and sits just off the NE end of the Monterey Regional Airport runway. There is some occasional aircraft noise--however, it's minimal compared to what you'd experience at a typical military base. Facilities are older/dated, but clean. As for the Famcamp wi-fi, well, it was one of the fastest we've ever encountered---69.9 Mbps down/ 13.8 up. For $36 (military active/retired) this Famcamp is quite reasonably priced considering the location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 19, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First stay in this area. Great location to visit Monterey and vicinity. Friendly check in staff. The sites are short but we were able to fit our 26' MH and car in a 30' site with the car parked parallel to road. We took advantage of the great discounts offered at the ITT office to visit the Monterey Aquarium and Winchester House. Fort Ord Community Commissary nearby and well stocked. We'll definitely stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 12, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Checking in is easy and the desk people are very friendly and offer information on the local area. The spaces are shorter than they say so be aware of your needs. My 30 foot class C barely fit in the 40 foot space. I was towing so adding that vehicle into the site was tight. Camp host wasn't very friendly. While we were setting up we put the dogs on leashes attached to the picnic table. We had only been inside 3 or 4 minutes and the camp host came over and rudely told my wife the dogs couldn't be outside without us sitting with them. My wife told her we were almost finished setting up and making some sandwiches and then we'd be out with the dogs. The camp host said that wasn't good enough so we pulled them inside. The grounds seemed to be mowed or weed wacked when the weeds get 6 to 12 inches high. There are so many foxtails and other stickers it wasn't safe to walk the dogs. The area that was designated as the pet area hadn't been wowed in quite a while. It's a patch of gravel dotted with very tall weeds. In general the park is in need of some TLC. It's convenient to everything in the area. If it had just been the wife and I it wouldn't have been so bad. But I will not want to take our dogs back there. I will be looking for alternate places to stay in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
While the sites are cramped and the campground sort of worn, it has a real rustic charm, like an old time campground. Its very pretty and mostly quiet, though there is occasional noise from aircraft taking off or landing next door. The sites are somewhat oddly laid out to fit into the terrain, so you might get a nice front porch area or you might not. Also, I was in a 40 foot site with a 30 foot motorhome, and it would surprise me if someone could get a 40 foot rig into that spot - even if it fit, the back in was tricky enough for me. So I would recommend this place for smaller rigs only. If you like to golf, the course is short but beautifully maintained, reasonably priced and fun to play. You can walk to the clubhouse from the campground. Wifi worked pretty well and there was plenty of o/a tv. Customer service was great. The price is reasonable, given the great location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
You can't beat the location! Close to everything Monterey Peninsula. Bathrooms were immaculate, plenty of washers/dryers, and other than the early morning flights out of Monterey Regional, it was very quiet. The camp host was fantastic! My only complaint is the size of the lots. My 34 foot 5th wheel took a look of maneuvering to get into space #33 - we could have used a bigger spot and one was open close to us pretty much the entire time we were there. I thought the price was reasonable. But I go back to location and you can't beat if. I will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
24 Feb-1Mar 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What this campground has going for it is location! It is right in the heart of Monterey giving outstanding access to local sights and activities. Otherwise the campground is rather average, and a bit over-priced. Most RV sites are short in length and our site required some creative leveling. Since it is surrounded by a golf course, I noticed some sites were within range of stray golf balls. Also the campground is situated next to the commercial airport and under the flight path of the main runway. Expect daytime aircraft noise, both landing and take-off. Seems no traffic at night however. The bathhouse was clean and heated, and had clean showers – nice to have a warm bathhouse for showering.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
If arriving after hours/sunset, call ahead to get security code for gate! No problem getting to RV park, did research on Google maps before hand and that helped with the final approach details. Awkward tight turn when coming from west, if really big rig be prepared for turn and gate entrance. Concur with other comments about cost of this campground and quality of sites. If it weren’t for proximity to Monterey then not really worth the cost to stay here. We did like our site and worked just fine for us but then we aren’t huge or require 50 amp service. Campground is right at the end of the regional airport and can hear aircraft noise occasionally, not excessive. Didn’t hear any aircraft late at night. Noticed neighbors don’t observe the dogs on lease rule. Wi-fi worked fine for us, does slow in the evening. Problem last night…security gate would not open. Called the emergency number posted on gate and finally got in touch with a sergeant at the Naval Postgraduate School. He was to call someone to come over and help. After about a half hour wait someone was exiting the golf course/RV park (gate automatically opens for exiting traffic) and the three vehicles now lined up trying to get into the RV park all went in the exit gate. Don’t know if anyone ever came to fix the gate. Sure expect better for the cost of this facility. Not intending to bash the Navy but really does seem like they charge more than what the other services do. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
December 6, 2018 - December 13, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was an okay park. We would stay there again, but mostly because of the location. It's only 30 amp. During cool months that's okay but during the summer when you want to run your a/c's then it isn't okay. There are some sites that are laid out really goofy. We were in #19 and the back right corner of our RV backed up to the awning of the RV next to us - literally touching it - which made the RV at the corner of the site's patio instead of parallel to it. The site on the other side us backed up to us in the same way. Really weird. The wifi was okay - in fact good - during the day. At night it slowed down but that is when everyone else is using it. The park (sites) are mostly clean. Ours had a left over door mat and pieces of plastic toy laying around. Although the park is at the end of an airport runway, the noise isn't too bad from the planes. The location of the park - Monterey - is great. Monterey is a beautiful location and a wonderful place to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. The drive out of Monterey down the coast and to Big Sur on the Pacific Hwy is gorgeous! The cost of $36 a night is ridiculous for what you get. It should be $20 or less.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A little hard to find and get to the entrance, but worth it. Although my reservation was for 7 days with 3 moves, (office staff was very helpful to get me in), I was able to arrange a deal with another patron that allowed me to stay in one spot the whole time. The County Fair was going on the week I was there, so the driving range was not available during that time as they were using it for parking for the Fair. Monterey is a great place to visit and see many local attractions, such as the Monterey Bay Aquarium, (just be prepared to hunt and/pay for parking). Didn't get around to taking advantage of the Golf Course, but the RV Park is literally right next to it, in fact you drive through the Golf Course to get to the RV Park. Fort Ord exchange is just a few miles up the HWY and the Naval Postgraduate School has a small exchange and gas station. All in all a great value and proximity to all your needs. Hope this helps, safe travels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
February/March 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I love Monterey Pines. Sometimes less is more. Yes, it's bumpy. Yes, there's trees. Yes, there's golf balls. Please don't change it. Don't pave Paradise. Don't put up a "parking lot" RV Park. I've been to too many of those. Nobody told you to have a 45 foot motor home. If you got one, go somewhere else. I've got a 20 foot Dodge/Mercedes Benz Sprinter, and Monterey Pines is the perfect place for me. Again, sometimes Less Is More! I'm looking forward to visiting again in the next few months. Can't wait...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
October 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
So, why is "cleanliness and hospitality" above linked in same rating? Two different things definitely. We have stayed here a couple of times in the past. The bathrooms are spotless. The laundry is well taken care of and there's even a grill onsite. The sites vary from nice 40' sites to much smaller sites. Trees are abundant but can make satellite reception a big pain. Availability of these sites is online and there is an 800# to book the sites. We knew from past experience that we wanted a 40' back-in because those sites were on the south side with open skies for the satellite tv reception. After checking several times a day for a 40' site to become available, one finally was open. I called and made reservations for 3 nights for that specific site. However, that didn't mean my reservation was honored. About an hour out of arriving I received a call from the office indicating she was moving us because we weren't 40' and someone (after us) needed that site! What?? We were given a much, much smaller site and our credit card had already been charged!!! It was a weekend and you can imagine how difficult getting another spot at the beach in California would be over the weekend --- impossible. So, we jack knifed into the site given us -- probably the most difficult site we've ever pulled into. Upon checking in, prepare yourself for a lecture of the rules. We're all used to rules but this was a little ridiculous. Once away from office staff, we found the camp host super nice. She was friendly and helpful. Maintenance staff was also friendly. We do like the park. The location is fabulous but not so sure we would trust office staff to honor our booking in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The staff is great and very flexible to satisfy your needs. This RV Park is all about the Monterey area. So much to do it was easy to stay here for several weeks and remain busy every day. Unfortunately, it is near the runway of the Monterey Regional Airport, so there will be aircraft noise. In addition, the golf course lawn equipment start operations early in the morning, so that is noisy too. However, these two noise issues are easy to accept when you experience the convenience and beauty of this area. The Wifi was great and operation was consistent and reliable. We camped in a motorhome and will return. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great location so I can overlook some of the obvious flaws, which are simply that this is an outdated camp. If there were more 50 amp full hookup sites, and if the sites were regraded to make them more level, it would go a long way to improving the overall experience. The space between sites is fine for short term stays, and this is not a typical parking lot RV experience as there is plenty of green around in view of your spot. The access to the Monterey Peninsula is the greatest asset here. Coupled with very helpful staff and Exceptionally Clean restrooms and showers, it is a win/win for me. I also appreciate that a short drive up Hwy 1 there is a commissary & exchange on Ft Ord that is easy in/out access. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
10-12 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location and campsite host go hand in hand in a famcamp. Good shade and utilities in all campsites with very clean restrooms. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 Jan - 2 Feb, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great LOCATION! Access to Monterey area and all it entails. Small quiet campground with great shower and laundry facilities. Nice trees/shade on a beautiful golf course. Once in awhile the errant golf ball finds it's way into the campground. Spaces are fairly tight but most can handle 40' RVs/5th wheels if you're good. Only 30AMP but not a problem since weather is rarely too hot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 17-20, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Price has changed last year, FYI. $29 a night for water and electric only. Great hospitality and professional staff. Highly recommend the area...Cannery Row, Carmel, Big Sur, and the lighthouse. Monterey is a clean town that feels safe to drive through. Be sure to visit the Naval Post Graduate base and the Presidio, especially of you need gas without feeling like you've been robbed for using a credit card for gas. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2-4, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the pines. The front desk staff and camp host were extremely nice. The facility, while not on a "base", was secure and quiet, laundry was reasonably priced and the bathhouse was great to have as well. Great location close to touristy things but nice to get away from the traffic and crowds. We will return! Thank you!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
83 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5