Monterey Pines RV Campground

 
3.6 (83)
150298 0 20 1 53

User reviews

83 reviews

 
(19)
 
(26)
 
(27)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.4  (83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (83)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (83)
Value 
 
3.4  (83)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Dec 10th to 17th, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: - So during our stay this December, the weeds were all mowed back, the sites were clean and neat; I saw the camp host out raking leaves and helping a couple of RV-ers with water leaks from their rigs; several times a day staff member went through the site picking up the trash; the manager visits the campground every morning personally to check on everything, and she was overseeing a broken dryer in the laundry that was immediately being repaired. Life was good there - very good actually. Have to admit that the sites are not level, I used 4 inches of boards to get my rig level and I saw a 5th wheel struggling for 10 minutes to get into a site without hitting any posts, shrubs or the neighbors. But we got outstanding local information from the manager on attractions, local seafood outlets, restaurants, prime rib dinners on base, driving directions on getting into the Navy Postgraduate school nearby. etc. At $30/night it seems high for Famcamps but not in comparison to the other campgrounds in the area. Very nice place. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
30 Oct 2012
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A very nice campground in a nice setting. While a little pricy it is worth the money. The only issues I had were the lack of 50amp and the tightness of the spaces. I will definitely stay here again sometime in the future. The staff was very friendly and the free pass to the aquarium was a nice bonus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22 September 2012
(Updated: September 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I have mixed reviews of this park. It is in need of TLC at the sites. Landscaping is poor. Our first site had dog pooh all around the picnic table. It should have been cleaned prior to renting. Our site did have great views of the Monterey Pines Golf Course's #1 green and #2 tee. That was very enjoyable. The amenities listed above on this website are incorrect. There is no Exchange and no gas on site. There is wifi, but it is weak. We played golf several times, drove the Pacific Coast Highway and visited the Language School where I learned Chinese in 1972, prior deployment to Vietnam. The directions listed on this site "from Salinas" need editing. The entrance to the park is a 180 degree turn from Garden Rd into the Golf Course. Carlina and the golf staff were very friendly. (Editors note: The Exchange and Gas are located elsewhere on the installation).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
18 August 2012
(Updated: August 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I've stayed in better and worse military campgrounds. The local area is beautiful. There is no minimum stay limit but the manager would not give me a reservation unless I stayed two nights. If the grass got watered it would be a much nicer place for the price. It is rumored that this campgrounds is going to be closed down.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17 July 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
J.P. left this review using the Directory software: - Spent one night here. Great location, getting a 33' fifth wheel towed by a long wheelbase truck into a site is moderately difficult. However when I stopped by the clubhouse after dinner when I asked the night manager about an ATM, and perhaps package sales or a mini mini-mart catering to the Campground, I was informed that none of that would happen, and "Enjoy it now, it's (the Campground) going to be removed".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 2012
(Updated: March 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This camp is in a very special area and location wise could not be better. The staff is exceptional, Carlina really adds something special to the experience. We originally planned to stay two nights but she insured that if we wanted to stay additional time the site she placed us in would be available. She reminded us that there was much to see and do and she was right. I wish we could start a competition for the best staff. I hope this doesn't become one of those golden egg things...even in the off season it is relatively full and at the rates charged it should be a money maker. But maintenance of the grounds is an issue. I would recommend that if you have a choice that you not use site 21. If you do look up and you will see a large dead tree with large branches high above you hanging over the site. Truly widow makers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Location & Golf; outstanding. RV park is located in middle of golf course; be prepared for occasional golf ball hitting around or on your RV or vehicle. This was our fifth visit and the park is slowly going down hill; with the exception of a upgrading of restrooms nothing has been to this campground in last five years. Landscaping maintenance does not happen; many sites and public area's are over grown with weeds and have not received any care at all. Roads are a mix of dirt, rock and blacktop with pot holes; every year we hear about up coming improvements but they never happen. WiFi was added but does not work; hoist and management are aware but say nothing can be done to correct it.Some site are not level and require major blocking (both side to side and fore to aft leveling). There are zero play area's or activities for children or teens. I would really like to give this park 4 or 5 stars because of location and staff assistance but MWR is just letting it go to pot. Current price $30 per night with rumors of increase to $35; this is great price for the area but way over priced for a military campground in this condition.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice, clean campground. The bathrooms were immaculate. The Park Manager, Carlina, found us a week long camping site even though the park was full due to motorcycle races at Laguna Seca. She also holds two free passes to the Monterey Acquarium which is awesome. A very caring staff. Only eyebrow raiser is the cost. There are other state owned campgrounds in the area such as Big Sur but they tend to fill up in summer. Airport noise was not a factor for us. WiFi was OK at the site but excellent in the golf club house. Wish cable tv was available. Overall a great experience and we'll be back. Oh yeah, if you like golf this is the place for you. Just step out your RV door!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed at this facility with our tent trailer about 4 years ago when we drove across the country. This summer we flew from DC to CA and wanted to tent camp. NO TENT CAMPING IS ALLOWED, even if a space is available. I wanted to use the overflow area, but I was told no longer exists. We stayed in a nice county campground at Laguna Seca Raceway. Very quiet as there wasn't a racing event going on, and only about 5 miles from this facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 16th 2011
(Updated: July 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
stayed here one night of what was to be a week long stay. it wasn't the parks fault, i got sick and had to leave. carlene and sam were wonderful in helping me get things straightened out and a credit issued for the nights i had paid for. the place is absolutely beautiful, well manicured and spotlessly clean bath and showers. located on a golf course. its like staying at the botanical gardens.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
Nov 30 - Dec 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J. A. left this review using the Directory software: Whole lot cheaper then staying in motels or private campsites. Made visiting with 94 year old mom pleasure and not sleep on home floor. Bathrooms and Showers excellent, as long as you go turn on heat manually 30 minutes before showering, when OAT is low! Do recommend having reservation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct. 20-23, 2010
(Updated: November 02, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Read all the other posts also. Our complaint and why we will not return here are the following: The park is at the end of a runway. Right next door is a jet propulsion testing building. There is no area for children to play. We were even warned against walking on the road next to the golf course and venturing off into the trees next to the rv area. There was a constant incoming and outgoing of jets at the airport. On countless occasions they were trying to start an engine at the test facility. Trying to get our 19 mo old granddaughter to sleep or nap through all the noise was terrible. We never were able to hook up to the internet. The pluses: 2 free passes to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our TV worked with the antenna raised. The manager and most other rver’s were extremely friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
2 July 2009
(Updated: October 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My Dad and I stayed here for one night while touring California. It is a really great place and convenient to town. Great dinning and shopping in Monterey. Not as expensive as many civilian c/g in the San Fran area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Great central location to down town and tourist things. But the grass is dead, weeds not mowed, staff friendly, site host is in last RV spot so you have to go thru the whole park to get to him. nice golf course but I don't golf so who cares. Sites are too close together not wide enough some too short, Internet spotty but Verizon G3 works well . $27.00 a night is expense even for CA, stayed at some nice parks in CA for less. My uncle lives in Seaside so I will probable be back some day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 10 - 24, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The previous comments about Monterey Pines are true. It is a great area. Lots to see and do. The golf course is really nice with a great club house. The park itself could use some updating. Some sites are tight and not level. Not many sites for big rigs, but you can make it work. Great place to collect golf balls. Picked up 25 in the park during our stay. Park backs up to the course. It is a nice park to stay in for seeing all the local sites. It is a beautiful area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
28-31 May 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Monterey is a great location to have a campground like this. There's a ton of stuff to do in the local area and the weather is almost always beautiful. Even when it isn't it's still not that bad. The noise from the airport was barely noticeable after the first few hours. The spots are pretty tight for larger rigs and there aren't many sites that would accommodate a very long trailer (30'+). Overall, it was a nice stay, but I probably won't be going back any time soon. Staying in an area as confined as that is not really our style.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 18 - 23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park is conveniently located to many local attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, various beaches for sea life viewing and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Carlina (the RV park Mgr) has two free passes to the Aquarium. That saved a bunch of money. Be sure to ask her about local tourism. The PX is located a few miles up the road at the old Fort Ord military complex. When you come into the park, be aware that you must go through the gate into the gold course. Also, the gate is closed after 7 pm or so or when the golf course closes so you will not be able to get in after hours without a gate code. Wifi is good. No cable TV, but several local channels are available with antenna. Shower and laundry facilities are clean. The airport noise is not really a problem; especially after staying at some places with military jets doing touch and go's. Some spaces are close, others are okay. My spot, site 18, was plenty long; but the sewer connection is uphill making it quite a chore to empty tanks. Other than that one drawback, this is a great place to stay for a week or so. If I am in the area again, I will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
6 March - 15 March, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful time in this glorious area. Yes, the spaces are a bit tight to back into, but well worth the effort - especially if you are a golfer. The recently updated 18-hole golf course is the best (military) track we've ever played. Well groomed, challenging, yet fair to both the golfer and the budget. Some reviews we read were "not great" (noise) but we put the staff and the area on our top 5 list. Actually the airplanes did not bother us at all. The laundry facility has just been upgraded which is a bonus. The immediate area just beckons one to get out and enjoy nature. There is the magnificent 17 mile drive along the coast (have lunch at Pebble Beach), charming Carmel-by-the-Sea, watching the otters, shopping & dining on Fisherman' Wharf as just a few suggestions. Also, for those interested, the American Legion is a great place for local information as they welcome members. If ever passing through that part of California again, we will be sure to book a week at Monterey Pines.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 2-6, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My wife and I are new to the RV camping life. This was our second outing. This campground is pretty easy to find. It is surrounded by a golf course which didn't bother us. I did find 6 golf balls within 50 feet of our assigned space. The regional airport is very close, but as a retired Air Traffic Controller, I enjoyed seeing the planes and found the noise not too disrupting. Mostly small planes with only a couple commercial airliners a day. Not mentioned in the write up, the campground now has wifi internet. We were in space 4 which is about as far from the golf clubhouse as one can get, and even though we got a poor signal is was adequate for our needs. The bathhouse is closed for renovation. I didn't get a date when it would be back open. You might want to ask that before making a reservation. We had a great time. This is a fun area with lots of great scenery. Not a bad stop. I can give it a good recommendation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
28-30 Nov 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Although an older RV park with some tight sites, it is in a fantastic location. Upon arrival we were given a map of the park, a copy of the Naval Post Graduate School MWR newsletter and a booklet about the local area. I wish all military RV parks would do the same. We were assigned Site 16 (35 ft, 30 amp service and sewer) which backed up to a fairway on the golf course and the airport. Since they were using runway 19 during part of our stay, we got a fair amount of jet engine noise but nothing that kept us awake at night. The bathrooms and laundry were spotless. Some of the parking sites were small so make sure they know the size of your rig and how many slides you have when making reservations. The roads and parking sites are hard packed gravel so it might get a little muddy during rains. A golfer’s paradise! We did get hit by a ball on the roof from someone’s wayward drive, which I heard is a normal occurrence now since the course was redesigned and reopened. The hosts that were there left and the new ones have a Plexiglas barrier around the front of their rig. The folks nearby us had their car smacked and dented pretty bad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
83 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5