Monterey Pines RV Campground

 
3.6 (83)
150247 0 20 1 53

User reviews

83 reviews

 
(19)
 
(26)
 
(27)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.4  (83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (83)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (83)
Value 
 
3.4  (83)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
25 Sep 09
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We got here late and met the host -real friendly, put us on the east side in a short spot. Woke up to golf course lawn mowers starting at 0500 and small jet engine noise over the fence at end of runway of the municipal airport at 0600 could not take it after listening to golf course mowers for 1.5 hours and commuter jets take off, we left in a hurry. Totally over valued park, would need to pay me to stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 1-4, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
While many of the other comments about roads, etc. are true, for us with a smaller RV the sites were fine and the facilities were as clean as any we've seen. The airport is just east of the camp, so during operational hours the take-offs can be unsettling, but they do not operate at night. The golf course is in full operation now, but we did not use it. The location is very central to most Monterey attractions, so the convenience was appreciated. First time we ever saw a RV park in the middle of a golf course. I was raised in the area and most people are totally unaware that it is there. There are security gates after hours and we did have difficulty getting the code to work properly, but other than that we enjoyed our view of the golf course and the quiet in the middle of a urban setting. Once again we appreciated the staff allowing us to stay there, as they had no codes for the Coast Guard, much less the Auxiliary. I guess the problem is that CG is under Homeland Security rather than DOD, but we have all gone through the same security checks as any DOD employee does.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Rather high rates for little in return. Rates go from $24.00 to $27.00 on July 1st. Not entirely sure what they spend the money on. Poorly maintained and lots of weeds at each site. Road is full of potholes, but at 5 mph can be managed. Carlina is very helpful. Sites are small, but do have a small patio site and charcoal grill with picnic table. Airport is close by and can be somewhat noisy. We are Air Force, so it doesn't bother us, but may bother those who aren't used to an airport so close.
Commissary and BX are on Fort Ord and pretty nice. Location is great. Not much on views, but a short drive to the beach and downtown.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 5, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Not much bang for the buck here. Very neglected with only one rule, don't touch the golf course. Dirty, dusty and packed like sardines. Another USN site that is in dire need of attention.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
24-27 May, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Monterey Pines is the most neglected Military RV Camp. There hasn't been any improvements since the camp was made. Management could care less about the RV camp and don't enforce any rules, except don't touch any part of the beautiful Golf Course. I believe money was appropriated to update the RV park but was used to improve the Golf Course. Dead trees, uneven RV parking, dusty road w/potholes, never mow the weeds, speed limit not used by management. Looks like a Junk Yard. Harvey Stolp
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
April 18 - May 4, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
T.B. left this review using the Directory software: The access road is still terrible & my site sewer connection was uphill, Everyone was friendly & the facilities were clean, When the renovations happen this will be a 5-star. It's still wonderful in Monterey Bay!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
APRIL 7-8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
ALL PREVIOUS REVIEWS ARE ACCURATE...A NICE PLACE FOR A FIRST CLASS RV PARK!! FIX THE ROADS!! RE-VAMP THE SITES!! TOO TIGHT, TOO CLOSE FOR MOST LATE MODEL RVs WITH MULTIPLE SLIDES ETC. GOLF NOT OPEN, BUT LOOKS EXCELLENT, AND AS BEST I CAN SEE ABOUT THE ONLY "AMENITY" ONCE IT OPENS....NICE FRIENDLY PEOPLE IN CHARGE. THE CAMP HOST TOO.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 1-4, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Fairly tight quarters, but a convenient location for visiting the area. Golf course still not open and road maintenance in campground poor, particularly a problem in the foul weather. Host was very friendly. If you're in the area for a few days, it's a good place to drop stabilizers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
27-29 DEC 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Access is via a long relatively narrow, gravel, "street" that has some potholes. The baths were clean but unheated and dammed cold. There was no wifi but Verizon and AT+T both had good reception. Our arrival was warm welcome and very friendly, helpful check in. Alisa @ MWR was most helpful in getting our aquarium tickets. The golf course is closed due to a long term renovation so if your a golfer please check before coming to golf. The airport behind the golf course made some noise but not overly so. Make sure you have the gate codes after 1800 hrs. The area fuel was much more expensive than that on the interior only 50 miles inland.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
S.R, left this review using the Directory software: May be a better facility once renovations are completed. A little disappointed considering everything in the area. Small sites, seemed to be crammed in among a lot of people who are staying long term.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept. 22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: We have stayed here before. Nice park. Relatively inexpensive for a very expensive area. Once the construction is completed and sites are graded/improved, it will be a 5. now it is a 3
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
5 - 10 June 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Monterey is a beautiful city and the park is very convenient to everything. The laundry and bath house were both very clean...but were the only amenities. The spaces were very small for larger rigs and POV parking made it hard to get an RV thru at times. Having said that, it was a great place to park and sleep and get up in the morning and see the town. We are looking forward to visiting again after the renovations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2nd - May 9, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.I. left this review using the Directory software: I rank this park as a 4 star park. It is clean. The laundry facilities and restrooms are very clean. Gas is available at the nearby NPGS. As of this date, it is $3.87 per gallon. The surrounding stations are $4.03 per gallon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22-25 Apr 08
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The closing scheduled for April 08 has been delayed to Dec 08. Date of our visit: 22-25 April 08. Directions: coming in from south on Hwy 1: exit at Hwy 68/Fremont Rd. This is a dual exit to the right. Do NOT take the far right lane to Hwy 68. Take lane marked Fremont Road following signs to Fairgrounds. Take first right up to Fairground Rd, turn right on Fairground. At first light, take left onto Garden Rd. Then take immediate left onto Michael Smith Lane into the Golf Course. Ted H.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Mar 2-9, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Host is great. Other than the unlevel spots addressed above, it is a great campground, and very close to the fairgrounds; downtown is about 10 minutes away, just west of the Monterey airport; and easy access to CA 1. (Editor note: This campground will temporarily be closing for renovations. The latest information on closure is early April, 2008.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
10-27 to 11-1 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I can't add much to the description or experience that has not already been said. The price has gone up $2 since last year, but nothing has improved. Very odd way of charging for reservations. I was charged two nights upon making the reservation and my other two nights before I arrived. After arrival when I inquired I was told they normally charge 2 nights before arrival and the remaining part of the stay upon arrival, but since the office manager was not going to be in she just charged it before I arrived. I would hate to deal with a refund if I would have been unable to arrive as reserved. Hopefully the improvements planned will make this park as great as the location in CA.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Nov. 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stopped by to check out the campground and update the information. Prices did recently go up to $24/military. A nice campground located near many area attractions. A good deal when compared to local commercial RV Parks. Not a fancy RV Resort, but a comfortable place to spend a little time while touring. They plan to close April 1st, 2008 for a couple months to upgrade the RV sites. All sites are being upgraded to 50amp and leveled. When completed, this campground will even be a better deal, as long as the rates don't go up again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
9-12 November 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on this CG. I'm glad to say that we were pleasantly surprised. Delightful location. Quiet other than the occasional turbo-propped aircraft taking off or landing. I don't see what all of the criticism is about. The facilities were clean and well kept. Frank the host was friendly. We had a great site in the upper 30's. We walked to breakfast at the 19th Hole Grill one day. Pancakes were excellent. We didn't do any golfing but the course looked nice. Next time we will bring our clubs and stay a few extra days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location, some of the sites are tight but honestly, I have seen MUCH tighter at commercial campgrounds. I wish they would increase the number of 50 amp sites, currently only 2 (besides the camphost). I also hope they improve the showers / laundry room--it is as clean as can be expected but is clearly dated in materials and construction. The Camphost is TOPS! Frank will personally meet you and help you back into your site. He also is VERY knowledgeable about local dealers, facilities and helped me even change a flat tire! The Campground is exceptionally close to several beaches, Naval Postgraduate School, HWY 1 and downtown Monterey--Great Location. Also be advised this Campground will SHUT DOWN April 1st, 2008 in order to improve, level and pave the roads and numbered sites. No estimate when it will reopen.
G
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Dec 13, 2006
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Mixed emotions. Great location and great price for the area. The host was very helpful and pleasant. The campground itself is very small, cramped, not so well kept, and offers little in the area of amenities if you don't play golf everyday. Our next stay will be just long enough to enjoy the local attractions.
JC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
83 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5