Mid Bay Shores Maxwell/Gunter Recreation Area

Hot
 
4.3 (59)
201384 1 25 1 100

User reviews

59 reviews

 
(36)
 
(12)
 
(8)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.6  (59)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (59)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (59)
Value 
 
4.3  (59)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (59)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
59 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
Aug 30 - Sep 2, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed for the Labor Day weekend. Loved the view from the camp. Every site had an unobstructed view of the bay. The cabins didn't have to look at the bridge, but even on the RV side, it was a nice view. We travel with a dog, which wasn't allowed to walk the beach with us. But that was a County ordinance and not something the campground had control over. Quiet nights, but a bit too much lighting in the park for my liking. Star gazing wasn't what I had hoped for. Easy access to the Destin side of the bay, but the toll was $4.00 each way. Boat ramp in the campground was nice for those who towed there own boat. Kayak rentals available, and office was open 7 days a week. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April-May 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had a really nice experience the bathrooms were clean and the laundry room was well kept,the staff and reception desk and Eggie hope I spelled your name right, was nice so we are looking forward to going back soon : ) Monica and Steve
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
18 July 2019
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
BEWARE of BED BUGS!!!!!!!! We visited Mid-Bay Shores three times within the past two years. We stayed once at the campground RV spots, and they were great. The next stay was during a Thanksgiving vacation, and we stayed in the trailers. This stay was okay but not pleasant. The trailer was dirty and smelled like a wet dog. We left the trailer MUCH cleaner than when we found it. We attempted to contact 42nd FSS Outdoor Rec/ITT but were ignored. The third visit was during Memorial Day 2019, and we booked one of the bungalows. Well, that was a MISTAKE! BED BUGS!!! We discovered them after returning home. (On a side note, it takes six weeks for the infestation to occur since that is the average incubation period.) Thus, we easily narrowed the culprit down to Mid-Bay Shores since it is the ONLY place we have stayed since Thanksgiving of 2018. Again, we contacted the 42nd FSS Outdoor Rec/ITT and told them of the issue. Additionally, we requested a refund, and we were told, after a very delayed response, NO. This is an on-going and costly issue, mind you. We will not be staying at this again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
February 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have been camping here for 6 years. Its my favorite spot to camp! Campground is always super clean, to include each lot and bath house. The office staff is always so nice and very accomodating. There is no pool at this campground - only draw back. The price is great compared to civilian camp grounds. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
OCTOBER 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Absolutely RIDICULOUS PRICES for any military member!
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 14
3-10 thru 3-14 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our very 1st experience with a new RV, me and the wife have never owned an RV before. I can only hope all campgrounds are as nice as Mid Bay Shores, we will defiantly be going back, view from the RV was great and the staff was super friendly. great place to stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Nov 4, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very well kept secret. Outstand view, right on the intracoastal waterway. Outstanding services (TV cable Wifi) and ice. Beautiful sunsets, good walking beach. I will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
13-17 April 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time visiting Mid-Bay Shores. Stayed in a cabin. Excellent facility. Quiet, restful, clean, close to Destin ($4.00 toll each way to visit Destin). Will stay in this facility again. Didn't have a lot of interaction with staff, but what little interaction I had they were friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 3 - 7, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very convenient facility. We were visiting friends in the Niceville area and this was perfect. Roomy sites. The campground itself is pretty dated. The sites are mostly level and are primarily sand with some gravel. Very nice water views from most all sites of the Bay. The wifi was probably the best I have ever encountered at an RV park. Cable at all sites. Many of the sites of trees in the way of getting a satellite to lock on. The restrooms and laundry were clean and very usable, we did some laundry here. Be sure and follow the directions from this site and follow the brown signs and it is easy to find. If you come up from Destin be prepared to pay a $4.00 toll plus $4.00 for every axle over 2. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 10 - 24, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a great time we had. Oct 10 - 24. 2016. Great location, wonderful campsites and sandy shore for walking, swimming or su nning. #1 on our list of places to return to. Quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
2-9 Jul 16
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp host and staff are very helpful. The campground is full of live oaks and Spanish moss and most sites are shaded. It was never full and quiet at night. Access to the beach is limited to 3 or so places. Aggravating to FL, no pets are allowed on beaches. Even though the campsites aim toward the bridge, the noise is very low. Don't go into Niceville Saturday afternoon, huge traffic trying to go to Destin ties traffic up getting back to campground. Nice vile is not touristy at all. BX is 30 minutes. We would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
July 9-16, 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The facility is in a good location, and the staff are nice and easy to work with. My wife and I stayed in one of the trailers and found it to be well below the quality we've come to expect from an Air Force facility. The trailer had bugs, the mirror on the bathroom was barely hanging on, the bed blankets were dirty, and the living area furniture looked like it came from a low level yard sale. We were not at all pleased with the quality of the trailer and will never stay in one again. We were fortunate to find a place so late in the season, and while we are thankful to find something, this place needs to either upgrade the trailers or take them out completely. Again, the accommodations were well below the other Air Force facilities we've utilized in the past.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 2
April, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We would probably visit again. The road off the main highway to the campground is recently paved which is a big plus. The Location is also good and love being on the water. It was pretty rustic, almost rough but it turned out to be OK. Looks like there have not been any upgrades or real maintenance on the property in a while. That being said, it was a good location. The trees prevented us from getting satellite coverage but I saw that a few with mobile dishes got a signal. My neighbor let me use his cable connection so we had TV for the weekend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 31 - June 4, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Recently stayed May 31 - June 4. The cabins were great and the staff very helpful. I have been coming to Mid-Bay yearly since 1984. This rec facility has been going downhill over the years. Yes, the cabins are a great replacement for the old trailers. However, this was Memorial Day weekend and the dock was closed; the stairs leading to the deteriorated beach were closed and they looked like they had been closed for quite a while. The beach is pitiful; no one takes care of it. Used to, we had a beach and someone (the Caretaker) used a 4-wheeler and swept the beach of litter. The beach today is about 2 feet wide because of the rocks filled in. I understand the years past hurricanes that took a toll, but it has been years since that happened and not many improvements made other than the cabins. I love the area, but over the years it has gone downhill.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
April 24-28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed the weekend of 4/24-25-26 and it was beautiful. We absolutely love this park, beautiful sunsets, wonderful location and peaceful area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Still no wifi in the RV's, managers are nice people but no improvements have been made in the park in all the years I have been coming here. A few homesteaders are still allowed to stay in the park, lax enforcement it appears and good old buddy network appears to exist in getting sites for more than a few days. This could be a beautiful park due to the location but it needs major attention from Maxwell brass, appears that will not happen.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 2
November 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is my fourth time at Mid Bay Shores. It is a most pleasant place to relax and spend some time. Eggy and Rock are the absolute best. They and their staff have done everything they could to make my stays comfortable, relaxing and easy. The amenities I desire are here with the exception of Wifi throughout the campground. A fitness building is there for rainy days (with Wifi). And the great outdoors beckons when the days are clear. That's when I indulge in my hobby - plug an audio book in my ears and head out picking up trash along the roadsides and picnic areas. If you feel like going out there are lots of choices for meals, movies, shopping and beach; and if you feel like staying close you can relax, fish, exercise, watch one of the free DVDs on loan at the office, or take a nap. Mid Bay Shores may be a bit rustic for some but I love it here and plan to be back every chance I get. "The Trash Lady".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 6-19, 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Operated by Maxwell-Gunter on Eglin property. There are no manicured grounds here. Nor are there any concrete pads; or any amenities other than a bathhouse and laundry ... and kayak rentals from the campground office for $5/hour. The campground is rustic — and more than a little rundown ... doubtful it will be upgraded anytime soon. That said, we really enjoyed our stay, and Eggy was a wonderful, friendly hostess. There are plenty of shade trees; so not all sites are big-rig suitable. As well, the trees block satellite signal in some sites, but with our tripod dish, we had no problems getting the feed. There’s no wi-fi, but our Millenicom Mi-Fi (Verizon service) got a good 4G signal. There is free cable. The beach is little more than a strip of sand, and at the time of our visit, was filled with beach wrack. Campers who'd been there for a while told us the beach had been pristine just weeks before, so must be a seasonal thing. Fishermen were out all day ... some in kayaks, and some in waist deep water fishing with nets. Nice variety of bird life. Destin and the sugar-white beaches of the Gulf are just across the Mid-Bay Connector ... $3/car each way to cross, but convenient. Quite a drive to get to the commissary at Eglin.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
March 27 - April 3, 2013
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Again, we stayed here only because it's location is excellent for what we want to do here. The park is still in a run-down condition and it doesn't look as if it will be fixed any time soon. Thee are several dead trees that if not removed will fall on someone's RV some day. There also seems to be about 8-10 sites being used by permanent residences. One positive note: The little shack with the Wifi router is closed and scheduled to be torn down. The scrap container is already in place. The manager said that a better Wifi system is scheduled to be installed and Wifi will be available inside your RV. You won't have to go to the cabin being used as a gym. They have taken out the table and if you go there you will have to put your computer in your lap. They replaced the table with more exercise equipment that no one uses. I think the managers are trying to do a good job but their hands are tied and can only do so much. But. We will probably be back.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
January 2013 - 10 Feb 2013
(Updated: February 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here the month of January 2013 till the first week of Feb. We had a great time visiting Destin and the local area. We were in site 15 and all was well. They do need to put more money in the place but that was not what we where here for. We went fishing most days across the street on the beach and on the pier. The amount of fish at the pier was tremendous. We even saw porpoise swin by while fishing on the pier. We were not lookinig for the best park but one where we could see the area and feel secure. Washers and dryers are one dollar and the wifi has to be accessed at the offfice or weight room. We would stay here again on the way by.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
59 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3