Mid Bay Shores Maxwell/Gunter Recreation Area

Hot
 
4.3 (59)
201384 1 25 1 100

User reviews

12 reviews with 4 stars

59 reviews

 
(36)
 
(12)
 
(8)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.6  (59)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (59)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (59)
Value 
 
4.3  (59)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (59)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
Feb 3 - 7, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very convenient facility. We were visiting friends in the Niceville area and this was perfect. Roomy sites. The campground itself is pretty dated. The sites are mostly level and are primarily sand with some gravel. Very nice water views from most all sites of the Bay. The wifi was probably the best I have ever encountered at an RV park. Cable at all sites. Many of the sites of trees in the way of getting a satellite to lock on. The restrooms and laundry were clean and very usable, we did some laundry here. Be sure and follow the directions from this site and follow the brown signs and it is easy to find. If you come up from Destin be prepared to pay a $4.00 toll plus $4.00 for every axle over 2. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 27 - April 3, 2013
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Again, we stayed here only because it's location is excellent for what we want to do here. The park is still in a run-down condition and it doesn't look as if it will be fixed any time soon. Thee are several dead trees that if not removed will fall on someone's RV some day. There also seems to be about 8-10 sites being used by permanent residences. One positive note: The little shack with the Wifi router is closed and scheduled to be torn down. The scrap container is already in place. The manager said that a better Wifi system is scheduled to be installed and Wifi will be available inside your RV. You won't have to go to the cabin being used as a gym. They have taken out the table and if you go there you will have to put your computer in your lap. They replaced the table with more exercise equipment that no one uses. I think the managers are trying to do a good job but their hands are tied and can only do so much. But. We will probably be back.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
March 23 - April 1, 2012
(Updated: April 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As usual we had an enjoyable stay here. The place is run down and looks as if very little of the money taken in is put back into the park. The shack with the WiFi router needs replacing. The patio covers need to be torn down. They are rusted so bad you can't sit under them because whatever falls on them falls on you. There is at least five trashy looking sites. One site had a travel trailer, utility trailer, boat trailer with boat, a pickup truck and an SUV. The patio was filled with very large furniture and you couldn't get another thing under the trailer. One site had 3 large BBQ grills. Several sites had refrigerators on the patio. I'll never understand why management lets these situations get into this shape. The WiFi shack is terrible. We went down to the cabin area to use that one but the table that was in there was replaced with more exercise equipment that no one uses. A note for those expecting to turn right out of the campground onto the Bay Bridge. You can't do that anymore. You have to turn left onto White Point Road and go to Highway 20 and make a right and drive about a mile to the new entrance/exit road to the bridge. With all this, we keep coming back and will come back again. It's a decent enough place for us to do our running around from.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
4-9 March 2012
(Updated: April 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
4-9 March 2012. First time visiting Mid-Bay Shores! Really enjoyed our visit! Weather didn't exactly cooperate but we got to explore the area some and definitely read & rest. One great point: We had no idea about finding a good recommendation for a charter fishing trip and staff did not know but we found out and visited the U.S. Army Destin Recreation Area (again open to all services) which is just across the bridge; they have charter fishing boats that are dedicated to the military and you can sign up for fishing trips! Mid Bay Staff was great, helpful, pleasant and easily accessible w/ radio at gate shack. We rented a cabin (#10) and we had 7 people. This worked out great to have a full kitchen available and a charcoal grill available for each cabin. Some issues that could be considered for improvement: 1) We needed the queen-size fold-out sleeper couch in the main room; it had a horrible mattress but finally asked staff who promptly switched out mattress w/ brand new one; Staff may need to check all couches in every cabin on regular basis for condition of the mattress. Also, spings in couch when closed were broken....entire couch may need replaced. 2) The access road going to park and also the road in the park are in very bad need of repair. Dangerous to navigate when coming in to park and navigating in the park in the dark. I would think that the road from the highway to park entrance would be covered by state since it leads to the state park right next door to Mid-Bay. But, the road inside the park would be Air Force and really could use an upgrade. 3) The fishing pier: Really nice "private" pier; pier does need some attention- the railing is "fragile" and a potential safety hazard; also lights not working or not enough on the pier. 4) Signs for park entrance should be repainted each year. 5) Would be nice to have high-speed internet or even WI-FI service available throughout park as it is definitely close enough to civilization for easy hook-up; very small "rec" center was only area w/ and was constantly occupied for hours. Thanks again so much for a great area to vacation - beautiful! quiet! well cared for overall! Colonel Nancy W.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
21 - 24 Oct 11
(Updated: October 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location and beautiful sunrises. Spots are not very well marked and difficult to maneuver into if arriving after dark. Take your time and walk the route into the spots to ensure you aren't driving under low-hanging branches and have a straight shot into your site. I turned at the wrong tree which made the approach a little harder than it should have been. This could be a premier RV park with a little effort and a few amenities. Bring what you need because there is nothing available here at all without driving out of the park area a few miles. The staff is very friendly and everything worked! We'll probably go to the Destin Army RV park next time since there is a lot more to do on the other side of the bay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 12, 2010
(Updated: May 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
NOTE: Mid-Bay Bridge Connector has opened and access to Mid-Bay Shores from the south must now exit at Lakeshore Drive, then left to White Point Road. There is no longer access to the Mid-Bay Bridge from White Point Road. Access to Mid-Bay Shores is from White Point Road ONLY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb 15 - Mar 3, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nicely located park right on Choctawhatchee Bay across from Destin Florida. As noted previously, there is a toll bridge to get to Destin ($5 RT), which gets to be an expensive pain as most of the tourist attractions are in Destin. They have laundry, fitness area (small and 2 of the 3 machines were broken while we were there), and wifi at the "fitness center" location and one other. Would be an improvement if they could expand the wifi to the entire site. The rusty picnic table cover are annoying and need to be replaced. They don't keep the water off and preclude the use of RV awning. Staff at the campground were very helpful and friendly. Didn't stay in one, but the cabins looked very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb-Mar 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just want to let everyone know is a nice place been stopping by there for the last 3 winters going from the north to south. However think have used it the last time as now no monthly rates, was $300 a month now will cost $560 a month as only have daily rates of $18 during the winter. Are there any retired military who can afford to pay this. Cannot understand how Maxwell AFB come up with this new rate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
15 Sep 07
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The only reason I gave the overall experience a two is because of the biting flies that cover you and everything you own while we were there. Evidently, this occurance only happens two weeks out of the year but lucky us decided to camp there during that two weeks. We couldn't step outside because we would be covered from head to toe with biting flies. From what I could observe about the rest of the campground it is in an excellenct location and your camper is right on the beach almost. They have really nice big lots and a covered picnic table area. We would have loved to been able to enjoy the campground but the flies made it a miserable stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
March 31 - April 5
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What a GREAT PLACE....Really neat and Clean, Eggy just superb. Only detracter was that there are no campfire fire rings (for us northerners). I assume there is a pretty good reason for that. We are definately going back, and soon.... BTW a great place to eat at is in Niceville, on Rte 20 called "PO FOLKS" absolutely great food ... Yum Yum!
JD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were very pleased with the cabins. We were right on the bay so had a great view. Our older daughter wanted to travel to Destin to go to the beach, since the water is so beautiful. But our 10 year old son was very content right there at the campsite. Very relaxing. Nice staff. The only negative thing I can think of is the foldout couch was not very comfortable (but are they ever). Take your own pillows too!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Wonderful spot. Each RV site can see the bay. Because it is the bay the water is calm (good for small children) and does not get deep quickly. Good distance between RV sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12