Mid Bay Shores Maxwell/Gunter Recreation Area

New
 
4.3 (57)
193141 1 25 1 98

User reviews

33 reviews with 5 stars

57 reviews

 
(34)
 
(12)
 
(8)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.6  (57)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (57)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (57)
Value 
 
4.3  (57)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
February 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have been camping here for 6 years. Its my favorite spot to camp! Campground is always super clean, to include each lot and bath house. The office staff is always so nice and very accomodating. There is no pool at this campground - only draw back. The price is great compared to civilian camp grounds. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
3-10 thru 3-14 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our very 1st experience with a new RV, me and the wife have never owned an RV before. I can only hope all campgrounds are as nice as Mid Bay Shores, we will defiantly be going back, view from the RV was great and the staff was super friendly. great place to stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Nov 4, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very well kept secret. Outstand view, right on the intracoastal waterway. Outstanding services (TV cable Wifi) and ice. Beautiful sunsets, good walking beach. I will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
13-17 April 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time visiting Mid-Bay Shores. Stayed in a cabin. Excellent facility. Quiet, restful, clean, close to Destin ($4.00 toll each way to visit Destin). Will stay in this facility again. Didn't have a lot of interaction with staff, but what little interaction I had they were friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 10 - 24, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a great time we had. Oct 10 - 24. 2016. Great location, wonderful campsites and sandy shore for walking, swimming or su nning. #1 on our list of places to return to. Quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
2-9 Jul 16
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp host and staff are very helpful. The campground is full of live oaks and Spanish moss and most sites are shaded. It was never full and quiet at night. Access to the beach is limited to 3 or so places. Aggravating to FL, no pets are allowed on beaches. Even though the campsites aim toward the bridge, the noise is very low. Don't go into Niceville Saturday afternoon, huge traffic trying to go to Destin ties traffic up getting back to campground. Nice vile is not touristy at all. BX is 30 minutes. We would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
April 24-28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed the weekend of 4/24-25-26 and it was beautiful. We absolutely love this park, beautiful sunsets, wonderful location and peaceful area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
November 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is my fourth time at Mid Bay Shores. It is a most pleasant place to relax and spend some time. Eggy and Rock are the absolute best. They and their staff have done everything they could to make my stays comfortable, relaxing and easy. The amenities I desire are here with the exception of Wifi throughout the campground. A fitness building is there for rainy days (with Wifi). And the great outdoors beckons when the days are clear. That's when I indulge in my hobby - plug an audio book in my ears and head out picking up trash along the roadsides and picnic areas. If you feel like going out there are lots of choices for meals, movies, shopping and beach; and if you feel like staying close you can relax, fish, exercise, watch one of the free DVDs on loan at the office, or take a nap. Mid Bay Shores may be a bit rustic for some but I love it here and plan to be back every chance I get. "The Trash Lady".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 6-19, 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Operated by Maxwell-Gunter on Eglin property. There are no manicured grounds here. Nor are there any concrete pads; or any amenities other than a bathhouse and laundry ... and kayak rentals from the campground office for $5/hour. The campground is rustic — and more than a little rundown ... doubtful it will be upgraded anytime soon. That said, we really enjoyed our stay, and Eggy was a wonderful, friendly hostess. There are plenty of shade trees; so not all sites are big-rig suitable. As well, the trees block satellite signal in some sites, but with our tripod dish, we had no problems getting the feed. There’s no wi-fi, but our Millenicom Mi-Fi (Verizon service) got a good 4G signal. There is free cable. The beach is little more than a strip of sand, and at the time of our visit, was filled with beach wrack. Campers who'd been there for a while told us the beach had been pristine just weeks before, so must be a seasonal thing. Fishermen were out all day ... some in kayaks, and some in waist deep water fishing with nets. Nice variety of bird life. Destin and the sugar-white beaches of the Gulf are just across the Mid-Bay Connector ... $3/car each way to cross, but convenient. Quite a drive to get to the commissary at Eglin.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
January 2013 - 10 Feb 2013
(Updated: February 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here the month of January 2013 till the first week of Feb. We had a great time visiting Destin and the local area. We were in site 15 and all was well. They do need to put more money in the place but that was not what we where here for. We went fishing most days across the street on the beach and on the pier. The amount of fish at the pier was tremendous. We even saw porpoise swin by while fishing on the pier. We were not lookinig for the best park but one where we could see the area and feel secure. Washers and dryers are one dollar and the wifi has to be accessed at the offfice or weight room. We would stay here again on the way by.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 23rd 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed here in the cabins about 4 different times. I would like to say that every time we have stayed here, the staff is so friendly, the cabins are always so clean and it is close to anything you would like to do. The water was not great this time but we can't control mother nature. This was the first time for my daughter to visit with us and she was just in aww. We had a great, relaxing time and we will positively be back next year. Thanks again for allowing us to stay at your recreational area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 8-July 10, 2011
(Updated: July 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Just returned from a weekend at Mid Bay Shores. I had a blast. My entire family enjoyed the stay especially the view fo the water. The location was great. The cabin was very clean and the staff was friendly and polite. It had all the basic comforts of home. My overall experience was positive and I would highly recommend it to all of my military friends and family.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
December 30, 2010 - January 2, 2011
(Updated: January 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the first time we have stayed at this campground. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Our site had a great view of the water as most of them do. Dog friendly. Cable TV and onsite sewer. Even though the weather could have been better we had an enjoyable time. On New Years Eve morning the staff had a Polar Bear swim for anyone staying at the campground and/or cottages to participate and advertised it well. After the swim the staff grilled hamburgers and hot dogs, chips, drinks and desserts for anyone who was interested for free. Can't wait to go back in the spring and enjoy the beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
November 10-14, 2010.
(Updated: November 21, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We chose Mid-Bay over Eglin FamCamp, soly because Eglin didn't take reservations. I didn't want to chance no space available during the height of the "snow bird" season. We could not have been happier. Mid-Bay is one of the best facilities ever visited. RV sites are all facing the Bay with beach right in front of you. The friendly staff made our stay even more enjoyable. This is a great facility and we plan on returning again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 20-23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at mid bay. For such a low cost campground, the amenities are great and the view is wonderful. We couldn't ask for a more friendly staff. We will definitely be returning and will make sure we have our fishing gear with us to use on the real nice fishing pier that is at the end of the campground. A close ride into Destin and there is a wide variety of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. And if you enjoy a day of golf like we do, well I must say, you'll have a hard time choosing because there are so many beautiful courses in both Niceville and Destin. We played both Eglin AFB courses and Hurlburt Field AFB course and must say they were beautiful, challenging, and the greens were great. With all this combined with this wonderful campground, Our stay couldn't have been nicer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 1-5, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The toll on the bridge recently went up to $3.00 for 2 axles and $3.00 for each additional axle.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
17-21 September, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a real gem of a military RV park. They have good signage to direct you to the entrance of the park. The entrance road needs to be re-paved though, it's a bit bumpy and unlevel , be careful with your RV and tow vehicle. This place is like all the slick RV brochures, where you wake up in the morning with the sun coming up over the bay , all in your front window (in a motorhome that is, sorry fivers...) all under a canopy of moss shrouded oaks. You really can't find much to not like about this park. The bathrooms were clean, the hosts were friendly, you can get to Niceville or Destin easily, and the rates are good for daily visitors. Not sure if I would stay here monthly because there is no monthly rate. Satellite reception is tough on all the sites, you can't have mossy covered oaks and good satellite reception, so for a few days, I enjoyed the solitude.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
6-10 Jun 09
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I would definitely stay here again. The only complaint I had was the awnings installed at each RV site were rusted through, no big deal, but the way they are placed leaves you with no room to deploy your own awning if it rains. The views were beautiful, and the location was great in relation to all the things to do in the area. I did get annoyed at having to pay $2.50 every time we wanted to go to Destin and use the mid-bay bridge, but that is no fault of the campground of course. The bathrooms were nice and clean. The campground issues a security card upon check-in that is used to access the campground. Water pressure was great and the cable worked, although I had to call the front desk and have someone come out to repair it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 3 - 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We just returned from a week in a cabin at Mid-Bay Shores. We loved it! The cabin was spotless, roomy, quiet & right on the water. Kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook basic meals when we didn't go to one of the countless restaurants within 5 miles of the camp. Cottages are on one side of the camp and camp sites are on the other. Beautiful spot on the bay but I would not swim in it, especially since the beautiful beaches of Destin are minutes away. There are alligators in the bay so beware. The camp has a great fishing dock and fish cleaning station with a roof to protect you from the weather. We fished everyday and caught fish and blue crabs right from the dock. There is also a boat launch right there that goes directly to the bay. The camp has some paddle boats and canoes that were very dirty and looked like they haven't been used for a while. Our only complaint was with the areas of the property that were off to the side and looked very unkept. There is an abandoned old FEMA trailer smack dab in the middle of the path to the beach. Needs to be moved and the back areas need to have the junk removed. Other than that, this is a great park. Nice, new play structure for the kids but not much else for little ones. Good WIFI but hours you can use the cabin that has the connection are very limited. You will need to clean the cabin before checkout but all the cleaning supplies are provided.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15-29 March, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This place is kind of laid back, a little woodsy/rustic...and we found it a good place to relax. Although not paved the sites are large and most have a beautiful view of the Choctawhatchee Bay. They have covered picnic tables on a concrete slab. We have a Porta-bote and it works great here...if it's windy we just stay in Lake Pippen which is protected and calm. The CG has a boat launch w/dock for fishing. The restrooms are good and kept clean. They have two places you can get on the internet with plans for park-wide Wi-Fi in the future. Eglin AFB is about a half hour drive away so if you need groceries Niceville is more convenient. If you like to golf I hear Eglin has a top notch course and there are lots of others around. This CG has been around a while and some of the facilities are showing their age...but we're enjoying our stay and we'd surely come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
33 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2