Gowen Field

 
4.3 (27)
66892 0 5 1 23

User reviews

9 reviews with 4 stars
27 reviews
 
52%
 
33%
 
11%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.3(27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(27)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(27)
Value
 
4.6(27)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
2-5 September 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The billeting folks were great! We called in for a short notice reservation for a Holiday weekend. Hoping to get a spot for that afternoon which was Friday in front of the long weekend. Jessica was able to get us in. She gave us driving directions to the Billeting office which were spot on. The park itself leaves a bit to be desired. The parking pad is concrete but the area surrounding the pad is rock which is not inviting to sit outside. We were in site G close to the dumpster. If you can have your pick I recommend site A. It has grass to the rear and drivers side of the site. Noise from the airport is negligible and quiets down at night. It is a great place to stay for a few days. We paid $15/night. Not sure what it takes to get the $12/night rate but then again, I didn't ask. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great staff at billeting office, billeting office is across Ellsworth St from the parking lot that the directions sent you to. Stayed one night only, had reservations, we filled the last open site (G) which is on the end on the Cessna St corner. Great stop over if passing thru or for short stay, even though next to Boise Airport, it was quite most of the time, with no plane noise at night. Can't beat the price, a real DEAL. Would recommend reservations or a call ahead to check availability due to the limited number of sites. Power boxes are locked so not sure how they handle non reservation arrivals after 1615, if you have a reservation billeting office leaves electrical box key at Main Gate with the guards for you to pick up with instructions. Price still $12 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was a great stay! We spent 7 days there and enjoyed it. For $10/night it is hard to beat. The staff was among the most friendly and helpful we have met in all of the Travel Camps and FamCamps we have been to. They were outstanding. The facility was a bit of a parking lot, but it was completely adequate and was near the fitness center which I used almost daily. The laundry was free and I was able to wash my RV on site which I appreciated. The campground itself was small, but it is a place we would stay again. Great value and nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 2012
(Updated: October 03, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We made our 1st stop at this Boise, ID campground in late afternoon August 2012 in a 40' Class A with tow. We traveled into Boise on the interstate, the exit was marked for Gowen Field only. We did not see any RV campground signs, but went into the front gate of the Gowen Field Reserve Center which was about 2 miles around the road after leaving the interstate. Turned left into the gate over several large speed bumps but no barriers. We received instructions to the Billeting Office which was still open to receive the key to the electric box and site number. Had the office been closed, the key and site number would have been available at the main gate with your name on it. The campsites were clean and across the street from a small park. There is a very small PX on base, but no eating or recreation facilities, not many soldiers or airmen and no families after work hours. We ate at the only mess hall the first night, located a couple streets from the RV campground. It was OK but not many military were eating that night. The ladies in the office were very nice and helpful. A little noise from firefighting helicopters landing and taking off but not much from nearby commercial airport. A good overnight stop, but not much in the area to do. Free laundry on base - not near the RV camp and no showers or bathrooms near the campground. A parking pad, picnic table, and electric, water and sewer is all that is available at this small RV campground - no tents allowed. We were grateful for a stop for a couple nights but not a must stop campground in the future. $10 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 29 - Nov 2, 2010
(Updated: November 02, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Found this RV Park to be another hidden gem for a short stay! Very friendly staff and the rates are perfect. A good place to stop for a few days if in the area. Few amenities and not much on the National Guard base, although the installation is in great shape. No problems getting my 40' MH and towed Jeep through the main entrance gate, but had to be VERY careful. At first, I went to the truck gate, which was closed. There is a phone to the security desk. Although they would have come open the truck gate for me, they said semi trucks go through the main gate. So I gave it a try. My 40' also fit in the RV sites. The 7 RV sites were full one night. Aircraft noise was very minimal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 25-26, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Although small, the facility is very nice. The Billeting Manager is very helpful, and the area is so clean an neat. It is great for a stop-over and only 1.8 miles from the Interstate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 and 16 September 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived on a weekend when the billeting office was closed, but the guards at the gate provided us with a key for the electic box and a guest card to fill out. The spaces are paved and level and there are full hook-ups. Very basic facilities and the laundry was not very clean, so we didn't use it. As mentioned by another visitor, there is a gym nearby for showers if you prefer not to use your RV. The airport is close, but we weren't bothered by the noise. There is a small BX, but it has limited hours and was not open on the weekend. The price was right and it filled the bill for our short 2 day stay in Boise to visit old friends. Easy on and off for the interstate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jul 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Spent one night here. Came in late, but found the gate guards to be very helpful showing me the site and making sure I was set up. The sites are very tight, but paved, level, and had full hook ups. You are right next to the air field so there was a lot of noise. Had a small gym where we were able to use their showers within an easy walk from the campground. For an over night rest stop it was really quite nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground. No shade. Noise from airport. Overall I would give it a 4. Concrete slab, water, electric, and sewer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
9 results - showing 1 - 9