Gowen Field

 
4.3 (27)
66892 0 5 1 23

User reviews

14 reviews with 5 stars
27 reviews
 
52%
 
33%
 
11%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.3(27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(27)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(27)
Value
 
4.6(27)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14
Ordering
21 Oct - 11 Nov 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here Spring and Fall for the past 5 years as we transition between summer and winter camps. The directions about where to park while checking in at billeting need to be updated. What use to be a large parking area is now a new barracks and construction zone. Hard to tell if there will be enough room for an RV to park while checking in when the construction is completed. It was recommended to park in the street with flashers going while checking in.
The old barracks behind the park have been removed leaving a very large vacant lot. Room for 25-30 RV Spaces. I hope Leadership at Gowen Field take the opportunity to maximize the utilization of this Real Estate and expand their park. The existing park could use an upgrade as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
15 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
You need a reservation if you want to have power. It's a very small park,only 7 sites and some of them would not have fit my rig (45 ft). As it was it was a snug fit. Facilities are minimal. Still, a very clear area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 4 - September 4 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice small camp ground close to Boise & surrounding area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 3
May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We pulled in after 4:30 and the Gate had our site # and key to the electrical box. Stopped into Billeting the next morning.Their office is located in the gym, just in front of the tract that borders the Fam Camp. Very nice and helpful workers there. The only reason we didn't give this 5* across the board is lack of WiFi. Feel in this day and age WiFi should be available everywhere. Very small Fam Camp, but no issues at all. Where they only have 7 sites it is probably best to have reservations. It was full while we stayed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 27 - Nov 26 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our 3rd time staying at Gowen Field. All 3 times we were met by the Billiting Staff that is very friendly and very helpful. As the others have stated, this is a great place to stop for a night, a week, or even a month. There is so much to do in and around Boise, all you need to do is look. From the zoo to the Birds of Prey to the Discovery Center to hiking the foothills trails, there is tons of things to do and see. We have family in Boise which prompted the extended stay. We use the track across the street from the park for our morning walk. Laundry in Building 714 is only .75 per load for each washer and dryer. Everything was clean and in working order. $12/night Oct-Apr (?) $15/night May-Sep Cash or CC. They do not take checks. Oh, by the way, although the black basalt rocks remain on either side of the camp sites (reason for the downgrade in facilities), there is new sod behind every site with automatic sprinklers making for a pleasant area to sit and relax. We will be returning next year as we transition from our Idaho mountain summer camp to our Arizona winter camp. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 11 - Jun 6 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The sites are the same concrete pads with some scratch-your-head touches that make you wonder if they consulted an RVer before they went to work. For one there is a large bollard protecting the electrical box which also blocks slides and baggage doors. They also planted a nice tree directly behind the pad. Without it I could put the back wheels on the end of the pad and have enough room in front to park our towed. As it is we have to park on the lava rocks between sites, and we were unable to get the sewer drain in between the two MH valves. I have my rear valve about 3' away with my 15' hose making a few curves. In 3 weeks we weren't able to get a straight answer on package delivery. The billeting office said no package delivery at all. We used General Delivery at the central post office, but without the words "PO box" in the address, Amazon didn't detect it as a Po Box and shipped via UPS. The UPS driver said they go to the base every day and absolutely can deliver to the RV park. In the end we forced Amazon's system to use "Po Box General Delivery" and the rest of our orders shipped via USPS. Overall a good stay, and we'd happily stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
AUG 2-5 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - ANOTHER GEM. GREAT VISIT; WONDERFUL FHU FACILITIES. EXPANSIVE AREA TO RIDE BIKES, WALK, JOG, AND PLAY WITH PETS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 29, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have been here for a week already amd this is a great place for a Base to see Idaho. The price is going up to $15.00 A DAY STARTING May 1, 2014. The people are great in the office! Ignore the previous review. I think he had a bad day! The base is not very busy. It's very clean and well kept! There is internet a block away night or day! I understand that weapons are not allowed on base!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22Oct to 1Nov 2011
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Everyone was as friendly and helpful as they could be. Planned to stay 3 days and liked it so much we stayed 10. Free laundry facilities in Building 714 which is 2/10's of mile by road from RV Sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 3 -12 2011
(Updated: October 12, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The jersey barriers have been removed from the entrance road; speed bumps, easily navigated by a big rig, have been installed, so there is no need to use the commercial gate. On arrival, proceed through the main gate to Ellsworth Avenue, just short of the flagpole, and turn left. The billeting office is located just down the street on the right, you must get a key to open the power box. If arriving after hours, ask the gate guard for a key. Leaving billeting, turn right on Ingalls Street and look for the blue signs with arrows to the left, it is the second street. Follow the street around to the RV sites. This is a gem of a military park. Concrete pads, rock landscaping, ample sites, some shade, and good hookups make this a bargain. It's on an airport, so be prepared for aircraft noise, although it becomes quiet late at night. The folks in billeting were very friendly and helpful in describing things to see in the area. Reservations are a good idea since guard/reserve personnel use the park during their training periods, and if arriving after hours it is the only way to ensure you can get a key for the power box.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 15 - 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time staying here, found it to be convenient to the interstate, and pretty easy to navigate through the security gate. On entry I chose to use the "Contractor" truck gate on the east side of the base since I was towing and didn't know how tight the snake K-rails were at the main entrance, upon departure I was able to depart through the main gate just fine with my tow and 40' Rig.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 18 - 22, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are currently at Gowen Field and after reading the reviews I think that for $10 the air traffic at Laughlin AFB Tx was much worse touch and goes from early to dark. We also had no trouble getting thru the from gate (34' Fifth wheel with a long bed Dodge pulling it, plenty of room. The SPs at the gate were more the helpful. I thanked one of them for the fine job they were doing and the then thanked me for my service. I would recommend a stay here, I have been to worse places and paid 3 times the amount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 21 - April 09
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are visiting family in Boise, and this was a great deal for our stay here. Free laundry was super, the staff (Jennifer) was friendly & helpful. The airport although close by was not bothersome at all. Most flights went out during the day and it was fun watching some of the planes take off and land. A beautiful view of the Boise Mountains from the back of our trailer. If traveling through, good overnight stay. We were here for 30 days +, a few neighbors in and out. Never completely crowded. Close to movie theaters & shopping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 20-26 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I agree the FamCamp is a great place to stop over and visit Boise. It doesn't have much to offer in the way of amenities, but is still a value. The base is nicely groomed and pets have a very spacious area to visit. The gym is about 2 1/2 blocks away and the Shoppette is about 4 blocks away. The Billeting Office personnel were very helpful as were the gate guards. As for Airport noise, if you've ever stayed on an Air Force Base, this is a piece of cake. Great value at $10 for full hookups.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
14 results - showing 1 - 14