Shields RV Park

Featured
 
4.3 (88)
95877 0 30 2 48

User reviews

42 reviews with 5 stars
88 reviews
 
51%
 
35%
 
9%
 
3%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.3(88)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(88)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(88)
Value
 
4.4(88)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(88)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
January - May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this park. In 2018 we stayed at the 'front' where it is row after row of pull throughs. We were very happy there....then. But, this time we stayed in the 'back' park (or new park) and it was great! While we were here the Coronavirus pandemic started. We had planned to stay from Jan to the end of March but ended up staying until the end of May in order to wait out the worst of the pandemic. What a wonderful place to get 'stuck.' We thanked our lucky stars everyday that we happened to be in this park when the lock down orders came. It is quiet, very roomy, well groomed and very pleasing to the eye. The roads are paved and each site has a very large concrete pad. The utilities are located well and all sites are level. The bathrooms and laundry room are spotless. The Navy has its own wifi and it is relatively strong throughout the park. The grounds are spacious and maintained weekly - virus or no virus. There is no problem getting satellite signal from any site. This park on the western end of the base is much quieter than the old one up front. The trains are a distant sound and sirens are rarely heard back here. The commissary and exchange are nice and large enough to find most anything you need. During the pandemic, the 2 stores are monitored for masks and numbers of people shopping. I never felt 'exposed' while shopping. I almost hate to leave such a good review because I don't want it to become difficult to get future reservations! LOL But, it is the duty of all RVers to let the rest of the RVers know what to expect from a park. You can't go wrong here and that's a promise.
Shields RV Park
Shields RV Park
Shields RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 18, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This Famcamp was only supposed to be a 5 day stop but has turned into a much longer stay because of the Covid-19 virus. The staff was so helpful in allowing us to extend our stay here. The spaces are nice and roomy they are all pull thru in the front section. We have everything we need here on base commissary, exchange, and gas station with Diesel. I will definitely be coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 3 - Nov 25 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First let me say we travel in a 42ft Motorhome and tow a 4-door Jeep so you can judge the size of your rig if/when we say tight. From I-10 take 49 south to Pass RD. Turn west onto Pass RD and it will lead you straight to the gate. There is a serpentine but it is easily managed. As soon as you go through the gate turn right and you will see the first of the 2 campsites. The office for both sites is in the middle of the 1st campsite. The girls in the office were fantastic. Our site they had original set for us had a power issue which they had already found. They sent us to the 2nd of the 2 campsites. This campsite is newer, lots of space but all back-ins. As I said we are 42ft and had plenty of room. Now here is the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. The Good: Great location, easy to maneuver the streets, quiet and peaceful. Not sure about the 1st campsite because it is near the front with a busy road and active railroad. The Bad: The post is small thus the commissary is lacking. You can pick up basic stuff like milk or chips but much more than that you will need to go to Keesler AFB. Keesler is just 10 miles to the east and their commissary and exchange are both really nice. However if you are reading this and thinking we'll just stay at Keesler I would not recommend it unless you are rather small. The camp at Keesler is not on post and it is very tight. We would not have been able to stay there and we have been in some very tight places. The Ugly: There was nothing ugly here. The office personnel could not have been more helpful. We had some friends that were to arrive when we did but had travel issues and came a couple of days later. The office personnel handle that with ease. They also arranged it so their site was close to ours. If there was anything ugly about Shields at all it would be the speaker pole for Reveille! We were in site 77 and the pole was right in front of us. LOUD! We will certainly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location and helpful staff. The sites in the new section have large, level pads. One of the better famcamps that we have stayed at.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan - Mar 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice pull through sites. Close to beach, resturants and an outlet mall. Small commissary and BX on base. Gas station carries diesel. Not far from a large commissary at Kessler AFB. Cable and wifi are reliable. Clean laundry facility. Trains! Trains run several times a day on nearby tracks. Horns blaring. We got use to it. Sirens! Emergency vehicles run frequently on a road just outside the fence. Got use to them too. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 4-10 and 25-30, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The base is easy to find and the older park where we have visited on four occasions is just inside the gate. The sites are roomy and level, the park is clean, and office staff friendly. Shields is not in a rural location so normal city noises are to be expected. Granted, there are rules and regulations applicable to the base and park; however, we are grateful to be guests of our military installations and appreciate any regulations that apply. When approaching the gate wait for the sentry to wave you up. They will indicate the easiest pass through for you. The only item that could make this a 5 instead of a 4 is to have a little gathering room for folks to meet. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
January 17, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Shields RV Park is actually two parks. The older park just inside of the main gate and the newer park on the far side of the base. Edward was very helpful on the phone when trying to make a reservation. Wanted to have access to internet (medical reasons) and he told me only the old park had Internet connections. Unfortunately there were no openings in the old park on the date of my arrival. So Edward put me in a site at the new park for the first night and into the old park for the remainder of my stay. Facilities were very clean and I only interfaced with Edward and he was exceptional! According to Edward, eventually the new park will also have access to the Internet, it is just taking time to set it up. The antennas are in place and just waiting for the service to be connected. I will be returning here as I really enjoy the Gulf Coast. Hopefully by my return the new park will have wifi as I do like the location of the new park better than the old park. The only negative I have is the cable system they are using. They have cable one and you must use one of their boxes to have cable. Then you must re-cable your wiring to facilitate their box, then call a number to activate the box. Cable one's tech support is horrible and you are put on hold forever. Oh, also there is also a $100.00 deposit on the box (returnable when you return the box and all of its parts). I recommend this park highly and will definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Oct 1-15, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our second time to stay here, great campground. Diana and Edward are very friendly and helpful. Will return as often as we can. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Mar 8-11, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second visit. We enjoy staying here when going west/east on I-10. I concur about gps goofing us up - go to main gate (off 25th St), you can see park off to your right. Being told we could not take pets if directed to shelter is disconcerting. Always cool and windy when we pass through, but do appreciate pavement/concrete sites throughout. We definitely make a reservation during snowbird periods to get a site. Enjoy the area! Great group of recreational/social pickleballers (many military retirees) at two locations. http://www.usapa.org/places-to-play-pickleball/ We did not use restrooms/showers/laundry. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 3, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed there for one night on our way to Florida. We found the facility to be very nice. The gps coordinates took us off I-10 (west bound) too early, but other than that there were no problems. If we go back via I-10 to our home in the West, we'll stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16 Dec 2015 - 12 Mar 2016
(Updated: September 19, 2019)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We didn't have a bad stay and would go back.  HOWEVER, there are limitations to the place.  I love the Gulfport/Biloxi area. There is lots to see and do there especially if you are a casino lover; there are several within a 20 mile radius.  We found southern hospitality, both on and off the bases (NCBC & Keesler AFB) to be truly endearing and memorable.  For us Yankees our first Mardi Gras was a real hoot!  Great food and the beautiful Gulf.  It was decent to walk the dogs around the perimeter of the park and the dog park on the other side of the base was nice.  Both of the bases have decent Exchanges and commissaries as well as the usual Thrift Shop, Auto Hobby Shop, gas station, etc.  The limitations of life at Shields RV Park are the (afore-mentioned) Warden and the lack of organized activities for the campers. The staff did make attempts; Christmas and Super Bowl Parties, but for the most part you are pretty much on your own.  Campers were trying to gin up activities like going out for Taco Tuesday, an occasional breakfast, etc. And when the weather cleared folks were out and about more and friendships were formed. Camper Max will gladly help you repair things and his dog Boo is always friendly.  It would just be a better place if there were more organization and group activities.    A new (additional) RV park has been added on the back side of the base near SeaBee Lake.  It's a beautiful facility and seems very nice but we haven't stayed there.  I'm not sure why, unless it was because of space limitations, but none of the sites are pull-throough.  The staff seems to be trying to be helpful and friendly but there have been sopme personnel changes over the last couple of years and training is probably needed. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
July 25 through August 25 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This facility is awesome, Diana and Edward were very helpful and responsive to our needs. The bath house was clean and neat. The only drawback was the lack of shade. The afternoons were very hot and a shady area would have been a good respite from the sun.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 27, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We did not stay here, just stopped in to check things out. It wasn't busy at all, only about a third of the sites were occupied. It was very quite and the campsites were neat but I'm sure that most of the RVers were homesteading. There is a small exchange and commissary on base and a Subway and that's all I need. I definitely would stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 3, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were there out of season so there was plenty of spaces. The spaces were excellent, level easy entrance. While there I visited the FamCamp, there sites were not comparable to Shields. Shields sites were all level and easy entrance and plenty of space between sites. Not so at the FamCamp. There is no question to it, shields is the best.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 5, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Q.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Excellent facilities, friendly personnel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 13, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a great experience here. Stopped here for two days on our way to south Texas for the winter. Ended up adding a third day. We found the gate personnel (one SeaBee and one civilian) to be extremely courteous. The base sticker on the motorhome was expired, but only had to show ID's. Office personnel very courteous and helpful. Most all the sites are pull-trough's and easy to maneuver. Any size rig will fit comfortably. Park is very easy to access from the gate on Pass Road. The directions on this website are spot on (I always worry about this). PX and commissary are better more than adequate, but a bit on the small side. Should you want to visit Biloxi and Keesler, it is a bit of a drive. Take highway 90 to get there and use I-10 to return. We will definitely return for a longer stay. Finally, I saw some complaints on this website about the staff and the pricing. The staff were great and where can you get full hookup with 50 amp service, paved roads and concrete pads for 21 bucks?!?!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 19 - Dec 9 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The staff, Diana, Edward and Rob were very helpful and friendly. I really appreciated the reservation system. On our original day of departure, we popped a fan belt, called back to the RV park and asked for a few more days in our old site and were able to return. We stayed through the bad weather in TX and hit the road on Monday. We arrive home safe and sound. My only complaint was with the base medical clinic. I experience a bad fall and my injury became infected. I went to the on base clinic for assistance, presented my ID card, and was asked how old I was. I stated I was 69 and was told that I was too old to be seen since I was over 65. I did go to Keesler AFB medical and was treated. Keesler medical was an awesome group of folks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
April 15-21, 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground, and you don't have to wander through the NCBC to get to it like you do on some military facilities. It is just past the main gate. No surprise, I guess ... the SeaBees know how to build things. We liked how the long term and short term campers are in separate sections of the same campground. Our corner pull through was excellent for a short stay. Be warned if train noise bothers you ... the horns are heard night and day...every day. This campground is conveniently situated to explore not just Gulfport, but Biloxi and Ocean Springs, as well as Bay St Louis. It is a short drive to the beach. We didn't use the amenities/facilities ... hence the three stars. I deducted one star from hospitality due to the rude behavior of the campground manager when my wife went to ask a question. It was the day after the Boston Marathon incident, and yes, there was a sign that guests needed their ID card to enter the office. Unfortunately I had her ID with me in the car. She no sooner opened the office door that the manager rudely told her she couldn't come in without an ID. My wife accepts the fact that she should have had her ID, but the way the situation was handled was over the top. The manager later apologized to me, but never said a word to my wife.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
March 2013
(Updated: May 05, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at Shields FamCamp Mar 2/3 after stopping by nearby Keesler AFB. Keesler has no facilities, is off base, and hard to find. Shields is easy to locate, has nice, wide cement pads, nice laundry. We were able to bike to the BX/Commissary facility and use the beauty salon, who accommodated us by bringing in a hairdresser a half hour before opening. We did not use the fitness center which is also nearby. We rode our bikes to the Gulfport beach area, about one and one-half miles away. Beautiful area that appears to have lots of recent improvements and historical markers. Wifi was spotty, probably due to the time of day when most users are on line.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 18, 2013
(Updated: April 22, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Only stayed one night, but will come back for a longer stay next time. Campground is very clean with very level pads. Nice small base with very thing you would need. Exchange / Gas Station / Commissary close by for all your needs. They have wifi by it is gowifi, which has limits. The only strange thing about the campground is that they will not talk to you in the office until you show an ID card even tho you have showed your ID when coming on base about 5 minutes before. Also the wife and I went over to the office to get bathroom codes and they would not talk to me without my wife showing her ID card and I had just checked in 10 minute before. Overall a great place to stay and we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3