Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (182)
184197 3 31 1 104

User reviews

121 reviews with 5 stars
182 reviews
 
70%
 
22%
 
4%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.5(182)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(182)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.4(182)
Value
 
4.5(182)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(182)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
121 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
June 30 - July 2, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As mentioned earlier in June, we stopped at Nellis AFB Desert Eagle Fam Camp in Las Vegas, NV on our way back through. We arrived after hours, but the staff called us during our drive to make sure they had everything ready for us. We arrived after office hours, but they had a packet which included a map with driving directions highlighted or drawn on the map to get us from the registration office to our new temporary home, Circle #1 Site #16. The packet included their request to ensure we stop by the office before 1000 the next morning to settle up on the bill. Second stay in less than a month...the staff here is awesome. They made us feel welcome during both visits. We have only stayed in the circles so far...and will ask for these spots whenever we come through this part of the country.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 9-11, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park has grown since our last two visits (2013 and 2017 when we stayed for five days), but the staff is just as amazing. The dog park area was very much appreciated (in 2013 we didn't have our two GSD's with us, and by 2017 they had passed). We now have a Dutch Shepherd, and she loved being able get out for some needed running. We originally had a single night stay booked for our return trip from the Phoenix NASCAR race, but had a minor engineering casualty that made us stay a second night after repairs. Both spaces were in the original section of the park, but the staff shuffled to a second spot in a different 'wheel'. Water pressure was good, power was steady with good numbers and we had great Sprint and ATT coverage and data speeds (I didn't recall my speed test results but was able to play a few rounds of World of Warships waiting for the mobile mechanic). Our DISH worked flawlessly after getting clear line-of-sight around trees behind our first spot. The prices per night are such a great value - and definitely makes it worth the extra drive time to get 'into town'. We went out to eat at local restaurants along North Nellis Boulevard, and saw just how the area immediately outside the base has suffered economically. Many stores were shuttered for the first few miles, and though we felt safe the entire time, it brought home how we spent most of the time on prior trips to Las Vegas either on base, or at the Strip/Fremont Street areas. Definitely spend some of your dollars near the base to support local, family businesses (because the food is great!). We are looking forward to being able to spend a month here after we retire and can travel full time! The roar of F22's, F16's, the distinct sound of A-10's are enough to raise the spirits of this old squid, too!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 19-21, 2020
(Updated: June 28, 2020)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed two nights...we did not use the facilities, our coach is fully equipped. The pull through spots are very spacious with lots of landscape between us an closest neighbor...we had #76 in Circle #4. We will stop again on our way back through Las Vegas. The only negative was the speed bumps going in and out of the base at the gate, they need to be painted yellow so you see them before your coach bottoms out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed this time in the “old” ex-mobile home park section and liked it. Very long site with good level concrete pad to park on. Trees for shade, etc. We like Nellis and have stayed here plenty of times. Staff in office were very friendly and helpful. In the past have had off-on experiences but they are doing things right now. They even called us when it was looking like we might arrive after closing. A welcome package with site info was awaiting us. Wi-Fi isn’t real strong and can be very slow at times. It is still a free service even though the park map indicates a fee after 30 minutes of complimentary service. Select the Viasat service. Getting ready to go and dumping the black and gray tanks. Sewer line clogged. Thankfully was when doing the gray tank, line accepted all the black, otherwise would have been a yucky mess. Good thing I was keeping eye on line and caught just as it backed up. Told maintenance guys and sounded like this has been occurring. Could be because it is the older “ex-mobile home park” and lines aren’t new like in the newer section. Used the dump station on the way out. Considering the cost to stay at commercial parks, still think this is a good deal for us. We aren’t into the “resort” lifestyle. Not the cheapest military RV park we have stayed in but consider the price to be reasonable for what is provided and security of being on base. We will visit again in the near future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Nov 1, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to stay. Easy to get to sites other than down town Las Vegas. Hover Dam and the West side of the Grand Canyon. We enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 3-6 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I am a retired DOD Civilian with a Department of the Army retired civilian ID card. Any retired Department of Army civilian can get an ID card that allows one to use military recreation facilities. Just visit a civilian personnel office where you retired or bring in proof of retirement to any other military civilian personnel office and apply for the card. I have used it on Air Force, Navy and Army Famcamps over the years. Now, I must say that I really enjoyed my stay at Nellis AFB Famcamp. We had attended a military reunion in Vegas and this was a great place to relax away from the Strip. The only facility we used was the laundromat which proved to be clean and easy to use. Also, the instructions to Nellis Famcamp were right on. However, I found that coming from Kingman, AZ you follow Highway 93 north changed name to I-11, then to I-515 to the I-15. Then use the instructions posted on this sight to Nellis. I did find that if it isn't a heavy traffic part of the day, I could exit I-515 going north and exit on North Las Vegas Blvd North and follow it to Nellis for about 5 miles. Yes, you would hit traffic lights, but the traffic was low and it was a straight shot to the Nellis Famcamp. The traffic on I-15 was hectic and not fun while towing a travel trailer to get to the Craig exit. Stay away from the I-15 on Friday through Sunday as that is the heaviest traffic scene, also during normal rush hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
25 Sept - Oct 6, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Clean, quite and can't say enough good things about the staff. This is a great park and the base has everything you could want plus the Thunderbird's museum. My wife and I had a great stay and plan on coming back. RD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 28 - Jun 10, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great camp ground needs a little TLC on overall camp but the people working here are VERY SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY type people in the state where everything is fast paced!!! Would recommend this anytime!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
January, 2019 - April, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed for 78 days and were very pleased with the park. When we first arrived we were assigned site 180, which is in the 'new' section. The new section is tight, very tight. We didn't think that we could do 78 days in such cramped conditions so we asked to be moved to 103. Perfect! We were very comfortable and had plenty of room. There were people there that were in the new section for much longer than the 78 days we were there and I never heard a complaint from anyone about the cramped quarters. The bathrooms, laundry and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen. The staff was always friendly. They were installing the Wifi while we were there and were able to use it for the last week. It worked great - but, it will be a pay service when the installation is complete. As in most military famcamps, it is nicer than most commercial campgrounds, less expensive and safer. We enjoyed our stay at Desert Eagle and would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Feb 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Return for a few days before heading for home. Assigned a site in the “new” section of the park. This site was also good for us, easy pull through and hook-ups. In this site we were able to get very spotty wi-fi access at the RV. Did learn from the staff than the wi-fi is being expanded. We could see a “Desert Eagle Wifi” option with a very strong signal but that is still under installation and not open for connection just yet. This will be a great addition to the park. Park is busy with plenty of campers, yet still a number of vacancies. Nellis is making progress in becoming a very good park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Boy what a big change to this RV park. Arrived for New Years and appeared to be a full house. Thankfully we had made reservations and welcome pack was waiting for us on our late arrival. The new sites are mostly well laid out for easy in & out and hook-ups. (However, noticed that some sites across the street have sewer connection far forward requiring a very long sewer hose, yuck.) Our site had a nice open area next to it but most do not and can be a little close to neighbors. No internet signal in our part of the park, needed to go to main office for connection (lowered my Amenities score due to this). Would have been great if this service were provided at the site. Overall: Nellis did a nice job. Side Note: Needed to wash the road salt and grim from Utah off the RV. Considered using the base coin operated car/RV wash facility. Neighbor said some folks him told the RV wash bay was difficult to get in and out of. We did a recon of the facility and looked ok to us. On wash day we found the bay pretty straight forward to drive into and worked just fine for us. We have a 36’ class A, maybe a larger rig would have trouble. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Nov/Dec 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second visit and need I say, this visit was OUTSTANDING. Our first visit was during one of the hottest times (112 degrees) in our rig. Much nice visit this time of the year. Can not overstate what an great facility and location. Crime on the Strip has spread out well beyond the strip now and it is so nice to have the safety of an armed guard at the front gate. They recently expanded and added a lot of new sites with their sites on more expansion and possibly a new “club house/office space”. You have to live with the hours of training flight, sometimes in the night but overall felt great to be here and we’ll certainly be back. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
20-27 November 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've stayed here many times and have always been pleased with the consistency of professional service and outstanding facilities. Quick, friendly check-in and escort to our paved and level concrete pad in the old, now "premium" section, our preferred location. Lots of space between sites, some trees and shrubs, and no obstructions to TV satellites. Plenty of OTA TV channels and good Verizon cell/data. The park WiFi would not connect during our stay, not unusual now that everyone seems to streaming video. Plenty of the "sound of freedom" starting early on weekday mornings but relatively quiet on nights and weekends. Outside the base is a deteriorating neighborhood so off-base dining and shopping require a few miles of driving. Overall one of the best Famcamps in the system. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
16-17 Nov 18
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Popped down from Mesquite, NV for the weekend to get the rig ready for an extended trip. First time we've stayed here; will definitely stay again. Very nice and helpful staff. Hundreds of great sites. The older ones likely have more room and some shade but we didn't mind staying in the new area. Very clean showers and restroom facilities. Easy access on/off the highway. Base has great facilities. Very secure. Close to some great national and state parks (Zion, Bryce Canyon, Valley of Fire). Overall a great value. Thank you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 August 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here on our return trip for an overnight. They take reservations and got us a nice pull through so we did not need to unhook. There are two areas. The “premium” ones are actually the older spots. They have shade and trees in most and are in the round “wheel”areas. That is were we stayed. Good utilities. WiFi was pretty good for an RV Park. Hosts were very nice. They escort you to your site, which is always helpful. Be sure and check if there is a NASCAR race if you are staying on a weekend, the traffic might be worse and the Famcamp fills up more. Great place, easy to get to. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 6, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here one night as just an overnight on our way north. It was Hot on the way up and Hot there. We arrived around 4:30pm to 120 degrees! I say this not to complain, but to set the stage for the great visit we had. We were having roof Air issues on our coach, and the hosts put us in a site that was almost completely shaded. The hosts, Melanie and Victor were super friending and connected us with a great Mobile RV repair service, Tom, who called us back and trouble shot our roof air issue over the phone. We were even offered cold bags of ice. But back to the park. Our site was #63, a back-in, very level, easy to get into with convenient towed vehicle parking. The site was very clean and had some grass and a picnic table. Good electricity. The wifi connected very easy and the internet was speedy and perfect for e-mail and web browsing. We did not try any satellite. We had good version reception. We had ready about cleanliness and bathroom issues but we thought they were very clean and well kept. There is a very nice office with computers, tables and relaxing chairs. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 20, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We visited Nellis in December and really enjoyed the legacy section of the campground. The sites are large with plenty of space on all sides. I don't think we'd have been happy in the newer section for longer than a night or two because they are much shorter and closer together. I think that section would really only be good for smaller campers and RVs. Although the facilities in the legacy section are older, they are clean and the cost of laundry was the cheapest so far. We also liked the location across from the main base. It was easy enough to get over there for the commissary and exchange. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 12-18, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The Park is very well maintained and the hosts do a great job. We put the mailing address into our GPS and it brought us almost to the gate. Great Commissary and BX. No Diesel, which is disappointing, because the closet is Pilot and if you know Pilot $$$. I did find Sinclair and a lot less. Clubs have good food and reasonable. The Strip is close but construction on 15 is big and expect delays. Vegas has great deals for active and retired. Free or reduced parking price. Also you can go to ITT on base for tickets at reduced prices. Go to the Paris hotel desk and show ID and they give you a card, good for life for all kinds of deals and free parking. We have a big duelly so it only cost $20 for up front parking. The Park Staff at the RV park will give you all sorts of information and the dog run is very nice. Thank you all
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were in the new section, so no WiFi available. The older section looked very nice with mature trees. Everyone was friendly and helpful. They bring you to your site, so no issue finding where you belong. If they had WiFi it would be a 5* Fam Camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
28 Mar, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The staff are all great! The overall facility is top notch! My only complaint is, why didn't they make the at least a few of the new sites longer so those of us that are just staying the night would not have to disconnect our TV from the 5er. Of course we will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
121 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7