Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area

 
4.0 (84)
135568 2 19 2 76

User reviews

34 reviews with 5 stars
84 reviews
 
42%
 
36%
 
13%
 
7%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.6(84)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(84)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(84)
Value
 
4.1(84)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Let's put it this way. We visited in 2018, when my son was 16. He's now 18 and still talks about the great time we had at Fort Fisher. You have an 18 year old, getting ready to go to college, and the one place he wants to revisit is Fort Fisher. The location is amazing. The beach right across the road had low crowds, great waves and a very chill vibe. The trip into Carolina beach for dinner was short with tons of options available. The trip down the road to historic Fort Fisher State Park was a nice quiet walk around a historic Civil War fort. All in all, the location had everything we needed. The cleanliness was spot-on. The buildings were well maintained and easy to keep clean. Although some of the facilities had some age on them, the whole place was very family friendly and reminiscent of my early years in the military. The ONLY knock we had was the wifi/cell reception in the cabins. The hurricane construction made wifi VERY spotty and cell reception non-existent. While I don't spend much time on a device while in a place like Fort Fisher, two of us had online course work that we were keeping up with and this problem made things difficult. Overall experience: Amazing visit, great location, great people...Fort Fisher will always be on our "visit again" list.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
22 May - 29 May 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wonderful place. New cottages and up dated RV park over the years I have been coming here. Excellent staff. Never had any issues staying here since 2011. But...With all the updates, the Wi-Fi is terrible. This is 2020...Time to fix this one bad issue.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
3-5 Jan 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a great time here and the staff was amazing. They were full so we had to stay in the overflow area (electric only). This actually worked to our advantage because we had nobody around us and we had an awesome view of the Cape Fear River out of our front windshield. They are still rebuilding from hurricane damage a few years ago but they are almost back to 100%. They have new kennels that just arrived and looked great for those needed to board their dogs during their stay. Check in is temporarily located by the swimming pool and it is pretty tight if you are trying to get back there in anything other than a regular vehicle or small Class B or C. They recommend pulling over wherever you can find a place in the park, unhook and then drive to check in. If you already have your site assignment just go there first and then go check in. They are hoping to be back in the regular reception building by this Spring. We highly recommend this famcamp. Make your reservations early if you want to visit between Memorial Day and Labor Day.
Ft Fisher Air Force Recreation Area
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great value and great campground. Most of the new pads have been poured. The pads are exceptionally long, however, some of them are angled in the wrong direction. If you have a 5th wheel, you may struggle backing into these sites. The laundry room could use a little improvement, but not so bad as to be a deal-breaker. WiFi is non-existent. Again, not a deal-breaker. If you want to park and be left alone, this is the spot. Easy walk to very clean beaches. Nice little shoppette/PX. Can't beat the price, considering what civilians are paying 200 meters away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Pros: *Location Location Location (5 minute walk to beach one way or 5 minute walk to Cape Fear River the other direction) * Long RV sites, several 40ft class As have been here during our stay and fit with ease * New cabins available for rent, so you could have family meet up and stay in the cabins while you stay in your RV * Tent sites are by the Cape Fear River and have a dock you can fish from * Best WiFi signal we have ever had * Great game room and decent gym * Friendly Staff and good food at the Beachhouse Bar and Grill Con * Bathhouses are old, I mean real old. They smell pretty bad, it's obvious the floors have water damage. However, that is our only con for this location so in the grand scheme of things, not a big deal. Would highly recommend! Things to do nearby: Ft Fisher Aquarium Ft Fisher Historical Sites Ft Fisher Hermit Trail (Basin Trail) Kure Beach Pier (restaurants, arcades, fishing) Visit the Beach Go kayaking, paddle boarding in the Cape Fear River 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 8-12, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very large spaces but as other stated the hook ups can be on the wrong side and some have electric/water on one side and sewer on the other side. It is best to ask when you book and always bring plenty of water/sewer hoses and electric cable. The staff is very friendly and helpful and you can't beat the location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 19 - Sep 1, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a wonderful campground, and in our estimation the best value for $ spent. Campsites are roomy, although some have hook-ups on the “wrong side.” This was not a problem as we carry plenty of extensions. Best of all — fantastic free WiFi!!! It worked flawlessly during our entire 14 day stay. Staff was extremely pleasant. US Mail/UPS/FedEx directly to Reception Office is a big plus for full-timers. Easy walk to public beach access. Bathhouse and toilets are a bit dated, and although clean, are in need of an upgrade. If coming from the south you might want to consider the Southport - Ft Fisher Ferry. The ferry accommodates RVs, is very affordable, and cuts driving time as you bypass the city of Wilmington. We will happily stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
3 Jan through 8 Jan 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Had a great experience here. The weather was a little on the cool side, but it was January (40s, 50s & 60's) nothing froze. We did some local sight seeing and saw the battleship NC. Wilmington's River Walk and RR Museum and other points north, Ft Fisher and Southport, NC when we went sightseeing south. TV & cable had to be set up by the technician, but the wi-fi was good, even was able to use internet radio with the password. Some of the sites have the utilities on the wrong side and you can pull through to make a hook up, but we were fine. Laundry facility and bathhouse was clean. Met some nice folks who were headed south, but we had to turn and go back north.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20 July 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ft Fisher is an open base w/many camping spots. We had a large shady back-in site. Hookups were close & convenient but saw others were not always standard set up. Some sites required pull in w/water & electric on one side & sewage on other. Confusing & some moved unit around for most convenient layout. Amenities were amazing: had very nice swimming pool w/chairs, lounges & a few umbrellas for shade, activities center w/multiple items to rent, I.e. Bicycles, beach equipment, etc. There was a pier well used for fishing. Registration center had a mini-store of some food items, snacks, beach equipment & clothing. Received mail here & no problem since this was my first experience using a mail service. Ladies at the desk were very sweet. There is a war museum on the base. Base is located across the street from the ocean beach. Had easy parking w/in the base & walkway onto the beach w/cart. Weather was perfect most days & ocean was refreshing in the blistering heat. Disappointed in the access to the ocean since the entry to water had about a 12" ledge to step down (was a surprise unless warned). Ocean bottom was stoney & sharp shells, hard on the feet. Sand bar allowed one to go way out. Base had a restaurant & lounge overlooking the bay w/a deck. Great sunsets from this vantage point. Stayed 2 weeks & hated to leave.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a great location and operation!! The staff at the Rec Center were terrific. We had three of our granddaughters with us. The Rec Center staff went out of their way to accommodate. The kids did ice cream making classes and how to fish for blue shell crabs. They got to eat both the crabs and the ice cream. As most of the reviews indicate - LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. We took the ferry over to Southport for lunch and ate at The Cape Fear Rest. Food was okay but trip over was great. If you are here on Friday night, go listen to the live music at the Beach Bar and Grill. GO EARLY or you will not get a seat. ONLY CON - bath house was AWFUL. Worn out and desperately in need of repair. What could be considered a con but isn't - the reconstruction going on adjacent to the RV park. Simply not an issue. Go and enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 24 to July 2, 2013
(Updated: July 04, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our go to place. Never been disappointed. They are slowly making improvements but it is a really great place to be. Our grandkids love the rec center , their programs are great and something for everyone. They could use some improvements in the bath and shower houses. We will return we have a favorite spot that we try to get each time. Take some ant spray with you. The deer will pay you a visit every night and there is a herd of stray cats that are taken care of and so don't feel sorry for them they are healthy and fed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 7 - June 14, 2013
(Updated: July 30, 2014)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the third year in a row I've taken my grandkids to Fort Fisher when they get out of school and they love the place! We go for a week and they are never bored here with so much to do. I stayed in an RV site and my son rented a cottage for the week. The location of this facility is perfect. It sits between the ocean on one side and the Cape Fear River on the other. There is a row of privately owned beach houses on the ocean side, but there is public access between the houses at both the north and south ends of Fort Fisher. There is a pool on site with lifeguards on duty. It sits next to a fully stocked recreation center where you can rent canoes, kayaks, beach equipment, and has games, big screen tv, computers for your use, and a library among other things. They run daily programs for the kids, some free, some with a minimum cost. My grandkids attended the 3 hour Adventure Camp on Wednesday mornings and had a ball...even the teenaged ones!!! LOL Fort Fisher also has an on-site restaurant during the summer season, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Nothing fancy....just good solid food. There are also free concerts on Friday nights for everyone...even civilians! The town of Carolina Beach, just up the road, has free outdoor movies on Sunday nights in a park right along the main road. There is also a carnival area and outdoor community area at the boardwalk. The carnival has rides for the kids and adults. It's a little pricey if you buy coupons for the rides, but on Wednesday night you can purchase "buddy passes" that will give the kids wristbands to ride all night ($35 for 2.) The community area also has free concerts, bingo, and other activities daily. So if you want to take your kids to the beach during the summer and don't want to go broke doing it, I heartily recommend Fort Fisher to you!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
10-12 May 2013
(Updated: May 17, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We called on a whim to see if they had any space over this weekend. The did have overflow available. We loved it in overflow. It was quiet and we were very close to the beach at the camping area. My only disappointment is that they don't have a "legal" dog accessible beach area. We had a great time there and I'm sure we will be back in the future since it is fairly close (less than 3 hour drive) from where we live.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1995, 2006, 2009, 2011
(Updated: October 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I've used all the facilities of this campground over the years and have nothing but high praise for them. The cottages have always been neat and clean with comfortable "BIG" beds. The RV sites are clean, spacious and near the bathhouse. The tent sites (neat and well maintained) are near the beach, bathhouse, snack bar (open summer season only) and boat ramp. The staff has gone out of the way to make my stays worry free. Late arrival - no problem - info packet is placed where you can easily find it. Once they had no room in the RV Sites and they allowed us to set up the RV by the Entertainment Stage after the music was over. Now that's service. If you're a history buff then Fort Fisher and the museum is just down the road; into aquatic life - ditto the Maritime Museum. And the USS NORTH CAROLINA is just up the road in Wilmington. And there are plenty of quality food establishments in the area. Highly recommend Granny's for breakfast.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 23 to July 7, 2012
(Updated: July 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great place to stay. Improvements are underway, such as new water systems and new housing after this season. This is a family oriented area. Our grand kids didn't want to leave. Recreation hall caters to all with lots of planned activities. Within walking distance to the beach. Positives outweigh the negatives. We've made this our go-to place to camp. Staff are exceptional.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 8 - June 15, 2012
(Updated: June 25, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was my first stay at Fort Fisher and I was really impressed! I stayed in the RV area. All concrete pads, reliable electric, clean bathhouse, and pretty well maintained, considering the campground was full the whole week I was here. I had 4 of my grandchildren with me for the week and they loved it. Plenty of things for them to do, both on and off base, and the youngest ones made a bunch of friends at the other campers. I had to count the kids at the end of the day to make sure they weren't sneaking in any extras...LOL There were some negatives though. All the water lines on base are being replaced, and there's a lot of digging going on. The replacement is completed in the RV campground, but is ongoing around the rest of the base. We were informed by the staff that this was going on, and that there might be short times where the water was cut off to allow the work to proceed. We didn't have any water outages in the RV campground while we were there, but they were working mainly at the front of the base where the rental units are. Speaking of which, I see by the reviews before mine that there were several people who were upset about the conditions of the units. While I can certainly understand that, considering the age of the units (World War II era housing), if anybody reads the reviews of Fort Fisher on this website it shouldn't be a surprise that the units are substandard. It's been reported for the last couple of years that they will be torn down after the season this year, and obviously nothing was being improved on them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 7-8, 2012
(Updated: May 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Check in was easy but there are no signs until you are well past the main entrance. All of the connections are on the wrong side for hookup but with my TREK I was able to drive straight in and hook up on a level concrete pad. They have the best cable TV of any place that we have been to. Electric was up to 50 AMPs. There is no WIFI in the campgrounds but we were able to get it in the RV overflow which has 20 amps and water and it overlooks the river. There is the state aquarium and the Civil War museum to visit. None of the nice attractions on the station are open until Memorial weekend. The laundry room and bathrooms were first class. Nice place to plan for an extended stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
23 Jul 11 thru 6 Aug 2011
(Updated: August 12, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our second time we have stayed at Fort Fisher, the staff is very nice and helpful. If there is anything to complain about it would be the condition of some of the RV parking spaces. We have a 39ft. Motorhome and the concrete pads are narrow with a bump out for a patio. We could not use as designed because there was a deep hole where my front right wheel would sit so we had to straddle with two wheels on concrete and two on ground. The bathhouse is clean and air conditioned. The Beach house Grill is only open on the weekends and had Karoke on Saturday night. Fort Fisher also hosts concerts once a month. There is a sizable herd of whitetail deer that we enjoyed watching. We plan to stay again next year. We heard that the cottages currently for rent are going to be torn down and new ones build in the near future. Great place to go!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
28 June thru 8 July, 2011
(Updated: July 08, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the greatest locations. Staff are exceptional. We stayed in overflow over the 4th but still no complaints. Like other places it seems cuts in MWR funds affects the quality.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct 18 - 31, 2010
(Updated: November 11, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a gem. Across the street from the ocean, and the bay right on the base. Gene did everything he could to keep us from moving, but we did not have reservations so we had to move once while we were there. I would have given all 5 stars but the laundry area was not clean and some of the facilities were not offered in the winter months, like the gym. We will stay at this facility again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2