JBSA - Fort Sam Houston RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (157)
163547 2 19 2 89

User reviews

50 reviews with 4 stars
157 reviews
 
61%
 
29%
 
10%
2 stars
 
0%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.4(157)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(157)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(157)
Value
 
4.6(157)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(157)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
50 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
December 2019
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pretty nice RV Park located fairly close to major downtown attractions like the Riverwalk, Sea World, the zoo, and of course, the Alamo. The park has 74 relatively level, 86-ft long pull-thru sites, each with a 62-ft concrete pad and FHU 50-amp service. The sites are all plenty long enough for even the biggest rigs, tow vehicles, and trailers, and they’re spread apart about 50 feet with lots of grassy space and trees between them. Despite the trees, most sites are satellite-friendly. The pedestals are located mid-site, reachable without the need for extension cords or hoses. We had 122 volts on both L1 & L2, and 80 psi water pressure at the tap. Be sure to use a regulator! There’s a fenced dog park and a playground for kids. Showers and laundry rooms are clean. Coin-operated machines take $1.50 per load (that’s $3 to wash and dry). The staff is friendly and helpful. That being said, there are some detractors. The RV park is 1.5 miles from the nearest gate, and about 3 miles from the exchange, commissary, and main gate. The speed limit is only 20 mph in many areas, but you’ll want to drive that slow anyway so your teeth won’t rattle due to the horribly bumpy roads in desperate need of repair all over the base. There is no WiFi at your site, and only limited WiFi in the club house. And did I mention the train? You can hear the whistle and feel the rumble at all hours of the day and night. And for those staying for an extended length of time and wanting to get mail, that ain’t happening. You can get UPS and FedEx packages delivered to the office, but not US postal mail. And the post office on base does not accept general delivery mail. That can only be done at the main USPS hub on Perrin Beitel Road several miles north of the base. Use zip code 78265-9999 for general delivery (not the post office street address at zip code 78284). Would I stay here again? Well, that depends. If you want a safe harbor for an extended stay, perhaps avoiding colder weather up north, or just killing time between other destinations, then yes, I might stay here again. The price is right (less than $20 per day at the weekly rate). But if you’re going to be in San Antonio for just a short while and still want to see the sights, you might consider somewhere else, perhaps the KOA, with walking distance to public transportation or on-site pick-up by city tours. Traffic and parking downtown can be a nightmare.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Needed an overnight in the area. Good thing we made a reservation! Only two open sites that night. Called ahead and got directions. Very helpful, do not follow your GPS, it will take you to the wrong gate. Arrived after the office closed. Had our site number in the board, but I could not find check-in instructions for after hours. Camp Host on duty was not home. Eventually figured it out just fine. Simple, dated park, sites are level, utilities good, Verizon with 4 bars. No wifi that I could find. Good spacing between sites. Looks like there are quite a few long term residents, but that seems to be a growing trend:(. Only two laundry’s and only a couple of machines in each, that I could find. Bathhouse looked clean. Trains do run nearby. Worked for what we needed, AC on a 100 degree day!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12 - 16 April 2019
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first visit to this FAMCAMP, but probably not our last. As others have said getting to the campground can be a challenge. We called a few days before arrival and were provided good directions, but they ended up being difficult to follow due to lack of signage on post. After learning our way around the post we chose to depart via a different route/gate. Some of the roads on Ft. Sam are horrendous! The staff were friendly and helpful. The sites are concrete, level, with good utilities. There is a goodly amount of space between sites. One negative is the overwhelming presence of grass burrs. If you have long-haired dogs this is pretty awful. this is Texas so you're not going to completely get rid of burrs, but it would be nice if they would try to do some control, especially in the enclosed dog park. The burrs were bad enough to make the dog park unusable for our Shelties. It was pretty quiet at night, a bit of train noises now and again, but we like trains so all good to us. The park/post is located close to many of the major San Antonio attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Agree with previous reviews about difficulties getting to the campground. We arrived on a Sunday; therefore the gate we needed to take was closed! After some fancy maneuvering, we made it in. The installation has little to no signage for the RV campground. We relied on directions from the staff, which ended up being difficult to follow as well. However, we finally made it back into the campground. The initial impression is nice. A metal horse sculpture greets you at the entrance, then the registration building is obvious and straight ahead. Our site (can't remember the site number) was at the very end, closest to the dog park with a 6' tall, probably 50'-60' long (if you like to play frisbee with the dog). It is also closest to the horse stables. We saw horses and people riding horses each day of our trip! It was relaxing. If you have kids, the playground was one of the best I've seen. The sites were plenty long for us to park our 36' motorhome and toad behind. Water connection leaked (their issue, not ours). The picnic tables were larger than any others we have seen. That was a plus! Our site was also closest to the railroad tracks and, as you've read in other posts, the train noise is loud, very loud and can run all through the night. Staff were friendly but I did have some issues with trying to pay for an additional night. When I went to the office to ask, I was told I hadn't paid for any of our stay. I brought back the receipt to show where we did pay. We finally got everything straightened out. Overall the location was really good to San Antonio, The Alamo, etc. We will stay here again! 
Fort Sam Houston RV Park
Fort Sam Houston RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 18-22, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Really enjoyed Sam Houston RV Park. The person’s review before me should not deter you for staying at this park. Granted it isn’t the Hilton with soundproof windows, but noise is a fact when you’re 7 miles from downtown. Trains, construction and troops training, all part of the experience. Beautiful base, very active. Use the advice of the staff, do not use your GPS to get here. Coming in the back was fairl easy, but the road is in bad shape. Check in a breeze but be patience, the phone rings a lot. Lots are nice and wide, hookups all worked and no trash and very little dog poop around. Propane service in the park. Get out and explore. Great city. If the RV doesn’t suit you, visitor lodging is available. I’ll come back 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Checked in at the beginning of May and the grass was up to my hip - needed cut badly. Only two small laundry rooms and it seemed that laundry was often left in machines; also was not very clean. There were quite a few permanent residents. Pros are value (stayed for a month for $440 for FHU), located central to San Antonio, BAMC, and Fort Sam facilities. Good spacing between sites, playground area, dog run and propane available. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
9-23 May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We booked our site with "Baker" via the telephone in October 2017 for a May 2018 - 2 week stay. We arrived in San Antonio from the south east via I-10 and with Baker's help over the telephone with the co-pilot, we eventually maneuvered our way onto post via the Walters Street gate. Once on post, there is absolutely no signage for the campground. Much of this is due to major road construction both on and off post. Consequentially many of the temporary roads are in bad shape, and it is a busy large post. We eventually found our way to the campground and we checked into our site. A good map emailed ahead of time with the available entrances and recommended approach would be a great help. We visited the Army Medical Department (AMEDD) and the Ft Sam Museum, both on post, both free and well worth a visit. Although we do not utilize them, we visited the restroom/shower/laundry facilities (2ea), they are in need of a good deep cleaning. Cobwebs abound, evidence of the lack of cleaning. And in the two weeks we were there, the grass was never mowed. The grass was about a foot high when we pulled out. The trains are about one or two an hour, and love to use their horn... otherwise the area is quiet. We enjoyed our stay in San Antonio, we'd return to this campground, however, the management needs to give up on the apparent hands-off, sit in the office, approach and perform daily inspections of the facilities and campsites. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
6-22 Apr 18
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice park! Large, well maintained sites. Only five miles from the Alamo. Roads on base are atrocious, as bad in some places as an old dirt road. A good base map would be highly appreciated, as the base is too large to just wander & hope. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Fort Sam Houston – San Antonio, TX $20 a day concrete slab RV site with electric/water/sewer/picnic table/ grill Pros: + Located in the heart of San Antonio, it’s an easy taxi ride or bus ride into town + On base gym is within walking distance (approx. 1 mile from campground) + Temperature controlled bathhouses + Handicap shower stall available + Grill at each site + Propane onsite (though it can be tricky to get the people to refill) + Laundry - $1.50 for wash $1.50 for dry + Spacious sites, all pull through making set up a breeze + Playground for kids centrally located + Rentals available (M-F) at Outdoor Rec one street over + Golf course on base + We had a ton of tv channels with our antenna Cons: -Bathhouses are very moldy, though kept up they need a good pressure washing -Internet is poor, they have 2 hot spots at the main office but they go dormant constantly and have no range -We are growing accustom to the sound being associated with on base campgrounds – trains run nearby about 2 times an hour -Fair amount of long term residence due to housing shortage on base -They do not take card payments on Sat/Sun only weekdays so bring exact change for your stay if you are only going to be here for the weekend -The roads on base are terrible, take it S L O W or you will damage something on your rig This campground seems to be super busy with people coming in and out constantly. Their system is a bit archaic for keeping track of the reservations so we would suggest you call and verify your site a week out. It’s not a big deal for us in the B to move from one site to another due to a failure to book properly but it would be frustrating in a larger rig.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
December 20, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Fort Sam Houston RV Park is a very nice RV park. All the sites are pull-throughs with 50/30 amp electric and Septic. Spacing between sites is awesome! The grounds are well manicured. They have a small off-leash dog park. I nice playground for the children next to an open field for sports. There are a couple laundry rooms with 3 front loader washers/dryers costing $1.50 in each laundry room. All the road and sites are paved and easy driving. The sites are satellite friendly. There is a very large picnic bench on each site with a stand grill. Now that I gave it rave reviews, why didn't I give it all 5's in the rating you ask? Well, there is a lot of road noise all day long. There are train tracks just a couple hundred feet from he park, and believe me, there are several trains a day that are loud blowing whistles. The train tracks are also active during the night. We stayed here 8 nights, and I would recommend this park. We can from Florida to visit the area during Christmas. The River Walk is well worth coming to the San Antonio area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24 Jan - 1 Feb 17
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed 8 nights in a 35' motorhome & had a very nice experience! We had much difficulty upon arrival (as others have already stated, DON'T USE THE "STANLEY ROAD" ADDRESS ABOVE IN YOUR GPS: it's not anywhere near the campground!! We ended up using the intersection of "Williams" & "Nursery Rd" & that'll get you close enough. The only suggestion I'd offer would be to add a few direction signs to the campground: The only signage I ever saw was the one at the entrance lane into the campground! Overall, a very nice campground!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 2 - 8, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It had been several years since we last visited the RV park at Fort Sam Houston, but it is still a very good place to stay. On this visit, we had a level, concrete pull-thru site with great hookups. The access roads in the RV park are asphalt. The staff are friendly, WiFi is available (only in the office), there are recycling bins on site, and there is a great commissary and exchange not far from the RV park. The only recommendations that I would make is that they improve the WiFi (make it available across the park) and add more recycling bins. Midway through the week, the bins were overflowing. They also need to make it clear what can and cannot be recycled. The woman I spoke to, in the office, did not know. We would definitely stay here, again, if we were in the San Antonio area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
10-16 May 16
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very clean spacious sites. Play area for the little ones. Laundry and bath house clean and well maintained. Laundry is kind of costly but, needed. Staff, very friendly and professional. Security checks by base law enforcement. Have not found any RV parks better for the cost. If we make it this way again, we will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Didn't stay here but wish we did. Nice famcamp. Long sites, even some long enough to fit my 73' coach and trailer. Level sites and large sites. Spoke to former camp host that was there... Although he said things have changed a bit, but that's how it goes with new managers. As far as I could see it would be the place to stay if visiting San Antonio! My next time through this way I will call well in advance to stay here.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Mar 2-12, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As noted in the Fort Sam Houston fact sheet, this no General Delivery or personal mail service for the RV Park. UPS and FEDEX service is available. The address on the fact sheet is incorrect. the correct address is: Recreational Vehicle Park, Your Name, Your Site Number, Bldg. 3514, Petroleum Drive, Fort Sam Houston, Texas 78234. As usual, Baker will do all to assist you and make your stay enjoyable.
GR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb.11 - 26 2015
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The office staff is very helpful with any questions you may have. Nice large open sites with grills. Laundry room is small and could be cleaner. The big issue is the train noise at night. Some nights five or more trains come through. The engineers like to blow their horns as they come through!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 28 - June 12, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our 2 week visit here. It's a very nice and clean RV park. Like a previous reviewer, I hate to criticize the park. But there are some things to point out. They need to join the real world and put in cable and WiFi. They have dial up internet at the clubhouse but if you are using that you're out of luck after 1600 when the clubhouse is locked up for the night. Also, be aware that the roads between the campground and the gate near the National Cemetery are closed for runners between 1730 and 1830. I thought that kind of strange. Several days before we left, an old (about 15 feet long) travel trailer showed in one of the sites. A 12 foot by 12 foot canopy was erected behind it and filled with whatever they could get under it. There was everything including several ice chests, clothes baskets, duffel bags, etc. It was filled to the top and looked very junky. At least they weren't next door. Regardless, we enjoyed our visit and would come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Nov 1, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first time here. If you "need" a soda, buy it before you get here. No vending machines. Nice neat camp. Laundry is $1.50 per load. Some machines out of order. 50 and 30 amp hookups water and dump at all sites. Good selection of local tv stations. Don't need cable!
Campground Entrance
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2013
(Updated: May 21, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first experience at a Fam Camp. It was a good choice. I arrived late and found the site that was reserved for us. Clean, quiet, and well groomed. We are scheduled at several other camps this summer, hope they measure up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
March 2013
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed here a number of times and have always had a great experience. The golf course is very close and the BX and Commissary are top notch. The slots are wide and paved. A very good place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
50 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3