JBSA - Fort Sam Houston RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (157)
163547 2 19 2 89

User reviews

91 reviews with 5 stars
157 reviews
 
61%
 
29%
 
10%
2 stars
 
0%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.4(157)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(157)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(157)
Value
 
4.6(157)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(157)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
91 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
16 Mar- 16 May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Got here right before the Corona Virus Lockdown started. That put all our plans on hold. Was planning on a 1 week stay and ended up here for 2 months. Hosts and management were extremely helpful. Nice B.X. and commissary that was well stocked throughout and didn’t impose any undo limits on when retirees could shop. They opened this campground up on the 1st of May with standard social distance precautions. I’ll stay here again whenever I’m in San Antonio.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our very first “military campground" and it was great. It was clean, well taken care of and orderly. The grounds were in great shape. Our dogs liked running free in the dog run. We will use this park again should our travels take us in that direction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 12, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This review left using the Directory software by T.M. - The RV Park is fantastic. Large, very clean and well maintained. The park staff were always helpful and courteous. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. The base is huge and can be confusing. Your GPS does not know which gate is permanently closed and which ones close at 2200 so don't rely on it. I found the main gate (Walter's St. Gate) and marked it on my iPhone GPS so we could enter and exit at the same place during our excursions. It is only 2 blocks from I-35 (Fort Sam Houston/Walter's St. exit). Otherwise the GPS brought us in at gates that were closed and recovering was very difficult. The PX and Commissary are only a block from the main gate also. Both are very large and there are several satellites around the base. Unfortunately none convenient to the RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 4-9, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here many times. I will agree the roads on post (nursery and Winans) are in terrible condition. I suspect now that the new bridge is open, that they will get redone. easiest way to get to the fam camp is to exit off 410 onto Rittiman road and turn right. follow to harry wurzback and take a left, then go about 1 mile to winans road (just before the national cemetery ) turn left. enter through security, turn right on nursery and follow it around and veer to the left at the school and take nursery to petroleum drive, turn left and follow down about 1 mile to the camp on the right We arrived just before a serious rain storm and just got set up when the flood from above occurred. a few days later we got hit with a serious severe thunderstorm that re arranged several rvs and tore big branches from lots of trees. Within ten minutes of the storm subsiding, men arrived with tractors to clear the roads and remove downed tree limbs and ASSIST anyone needing help. my only complaint about the whole trip was the site (61) faced us dead into the west sun and it was HOT as hades blasting the sun in through the big front window. Baker was her normal friendly and helpful self, and the hosts were awfully efficient and kept he park clean and tidy after hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful campground with wide spacing and trees. All pull through sites. Laundry on site. All nice. Yes, there are trains, but not that close (and it is a Federal Law trains must blow their whistle before every train crossing). San Antonio is a great city to visit and many Veterans have history here. We will visit often. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
stayed for 4 days and did the local tourist spots. made reso over the phone with no issues and received spot-on directions with no issues at the nursery gate(which is the one to use), plenty of room to pass thru and roads are ok, few potholes but just maneuver correctly and you will be ok. sites are level and easy set-up(strong water press), both sides have a bath/laundry house for use, bath house could use a pressure washing(seems hosts just dont use facilities maint like they should/could?) no fire pit but big pic table at site. you are allowed to wash camper/veh which is nice. there are a lot of students/transition military folks staying and most u/s not to keep ALL their possessions outside but as always there are the 10% who thing an rv spot is their garage, this is fault of host to inform folks of the rules since it looks awful!? main side base is very easy to get to for the exchange/comm/food/fuel/etc, there is also a smaller exchange right down the road from the rv park with minimal goodies. all in all a very good place to stay if you are in the area, we would stay again!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11-18 March 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a nice park. Well laid out, easy parking, good roads. The only thing that is a drawback to this park is the road construction around the base. It makes it a little difficult to get to the park. The on duty host tried to call me and tell me the best way to get in, but I was driving and did not know I had gotten a call. Kudos to him for that, but I do not talk on the phone while driving, especially in city traffic! All utilities worked very well and satellite reception was good. We will use this park again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 20-23, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Absolutely one of our favorite military campgrounds. Sites are extra long, concrete and level with plenty of space between sites. Patio and picnic table, great dog park, nice play ground, shade trees. Good size commissary and exchange less than 2 miles from park. Roads on base going into park are pretty bad and the Nursery Gate is a mess, but they are working on a new gate. No cable but we picked up over 30 channels with the antenna and our satellite worked great. Love Baker in the office, she is wonderful. Watch carefully highways leading to base, there’s lots of construction and some exits are not correct. Just a great place to stay to visit San Antonio and surrounding areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
21 JAN - 04 FEB 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice facility overall. The RV Park is out away from the rest of the base, but is a convenient drive to everything you need on base. The Park was not full which was a surprise to me. There was plenty of room to maneuver even the biggest vehicles. Pads are concrete and long. There is nice grass (if you call it grass) space in between every pad. Each pad had a picnic table and grill. Each side of the park had a building with laundry room and restroom/showers. The laundry room was very small and not the cleanest, but the machine were newer HE front load machines and worked well. They were $1.50 to wash and $1.50 to dry. The restroom (mens anway) was three stalls and three shower stalls. The showers stalls were tile. Overall cleanness of the showers was acceptable, but the tile needed a good cleaning. Soap scum has built up over time. The park did have a dog run which was nice and long. They also had propane refill on-site but I never learned how it all worked. The staff was friendly and very helpful. It appeared to me (just a guess) that about 30% of the users were Active Duty, but none of the sites looked bad (with clutter around the RV). Our two week stay was $240 which is a great price in my opinion. I would certainly stay at this facility again!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
3-8 and 18-22 Dec 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Once again Baker and her hosts were outstanding. We had to extend a day on both trips due to weather. zero issues, just smiles and great service. only down thumb is the crazy road construction, the nursery gate at the cemetery is still in work so you have to navigate the base on some small tight turns.. the road is scheduled to be finished Dec 2017...as of 23 Dec is was not. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Aug-Sep 2017
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place in San Antonio. Stayed a month in Aug 2017 in a 37' motorhome. Friendly and helpful staff (shout out to Baker). Basic supplies in office (toilet paper, sewer packs, hose connections, etc.). All pull through sites and large enough for motorhome and toad. Picnic table and grill at all sites. WiFi only available on back porch of office. Train noise at all hours but you get use to it or use earplugs. They take reservations which is a plus for a military RV site. Great access to San Antonio attractions. The Rittiman road access was closed for road work when were here so we entered through the N Walters St gate with no problems. No concrete weave through barriers at this gate. Call to get updated access directions. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 24-30 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time at Ft. Sam to stay in RV area. We were there for a week and would have liked to stay longer. You may wind around a little bit to get there, but when you drive in you find an open, spacious park with all pull-thru sites. The folks in the office will bend over to make you feel welcome. This park is a great value! From Ft. Sam you are only minutes from downtown San Antonio, the Alamo, RiverWalk, virtually anything of tourist value in the town. The lovely Texas Hill Country with places like Fredericksburg, Kerrville, Bandera and New Braunfels with Schlitterbahn water park are only a short drive away. We will be returning, and probably more than once.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
1 Mar- 1 Apr 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ft Sam still tops the list for Texas FAmCamps in my opinion. No Wi-Fi but other than that, it's about as nice as can be. The wife wants to say that the laundry rooms have brand new front loader washers and dryers ($1.50 per). A real nice upgrade since our last visit. I read several problems (below) about arriving, gates, entrance, signs, etc. If one follows the directions above, its a snap. Follow them exactly and you'll have no problems. I tried to explore Brooks Base to see if the old FamCamp there was truly closed. Yep, it is. Don't bother looking-this website has the correct info. Great place, good folks and clean, well maintained facilities.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
January,2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Be sure to follow the directions listed on this site. GPS will take you to the finance building, not near the FamilyCamp. As noted very please with our 1st visit here. Nice pads, plenty of room between site, staff very helpful. Made reservations 6 weeks in advance, glad we did. Park was full, due to a rodeo in town. Only negative comment would be the roads inside post. Terrible and in need of repair. Watch out for some big potholes. (roads inside campground were good)Sevices were very good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec. 28th to Jan.28th 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It has been 6 years since we have been here and the campground looks exactly the same. No construction on interior roads of the installation and seeing all branches of the service was a nice surprise. Looks like there are many active duty staying in the RV park and thankfully there is a nice playground for all the children. Go to ITT and check out the great prices as we saved over 50% on one of the packages we bought for activities downtown. As for the heavenly Mexican restaurants we ate our way around San Antonio and had some of the best Tortillo Soup with and without POLLO! Weather has been very erratic this stay from cold to hot to windy and rainy but we are used to the tricks the weather sends us now. Not far from here there were several tornadoes touching down; in January YIKES! If you have not stayed here it is really a wonderful place to explore so much history and the outlying towns are wonderful to explore; be sure to go to Bandera; The Cowboy Capitol of Texas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Mar 14-17, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second visit. Very nice park, all pavement/concrete roads/pads and grassy areas. We did not use the restrooms/showers/laundry. San Antonio is a wonderful place to visit. Convenient getting our MH and car inspected for TX registration (fulltimers) nearby. Pleasant areas for walking the dog both in/out of the RV park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 28-30, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed there for 3 nights (on our way back from Florida) and found the facility and location to be great! Since I'm a retired sub sailor and started out on diesel boats, an occasional train was NO big deal! Entry road could use some work, but again since we live in the mountains on NM on a dirt road, no big deal.. The sites are wide and long. The trees are high enough to provide some shade, but not too high to affect our roof top satellite. The lady in the office was very helpful and ready to help with information. There is a nice golf course close to the RV park, but it was too hot and humid for this high desert mountain rat to play golf! Our GPS DID work on base and it did guide us downtown to the Mexican Market and River Walk and back. There is NO WiFi or cable, but it was again not a problem for us as 0ur iPhone worked well for hotspots and along with our antenna & satellite there were plenty of stations. We'd like to come back when its cooler and spend some time there! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. We called a reserved a spot. We got there after hours, but they had the information for us at the front door of the clubhouse. Very nice park, nicely laid out with level concrete sites. We only stayed one night but we would come back again. It is on the back side of the base, and that gate closes after 10PM. Ask me how I know. Luckily we were out to dinner with a friend who knew the base well and took us around to the other side. Otherwise I fear we would have been a little bit lost. Please note my one negative, I am sound sensitive and there are trains that come alongside the rv park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 3-4, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our second stay at Ft. Sam Houston.  We were impressed with our first stay and had to stop again for two nights on our trip from Florida to California.  It is very difficult to find any negatives about the RV Park.  The grounds are well kept, the sites are great and the staff was friendly and helpful.  We look forward to returning for a longer stay on our next trip through San Antonio.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
February 8-12 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spacious campground with friendly staff. While there isn't much to do at the campground it is a short trip to the commissary, BX, fitness and pool area. Currently the indoor pool is being repaired and is closed for a year. Wifi is only available in the registration building or behind the building by the table area. There is a fenced in dog run area. 15 minute drive to the riverwalk and the Alamo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
91 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5