Fairchild AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (75)
75315 1 34 1 33

User reviews

75 reviews
 
40%
 
44%
 
13%
 
1%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.1(75)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(75)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(75)
Value
 
4.3(75)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(75)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
75 results - showing 61 - 75
1 2 3 4
Ordering
April 07 to Current (August 07)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I guess my wife and I would be the 'New Hosts' mentioned below. The 'old hosts' have actually left and we have had 'The Con' since the middle of July and working hard to make the park better. The park is running different from before as someone actually MEETS YOU when you arrive! We are still hand-watering the grounds as the underground sprinklers are broken (hoping to be fixed by year end) but we have also gotten comments like 'Best this place has looked in years!!' from returning campers. We have two new stack washer and dryer units, the bathrooms are actually being cleaned DAILY as well as the Wi-Fi is expected to be active in the park in the next few weeks. Keeping our fingers crossed for that one. As for the landscaping, all the spots are green and pretty nice in the 30Amp area, with 'some' getting better in the 50Amp section. We plan to try some re-seeding as the traffic slows later this year and hope to get rooted so it will all be nice next year. We are located in Space 1, and our Co-Hosts are in #25 (First at the entrance) and we look forward to helping you and making your stay a pleasant one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
7-9 July 2007
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed at Fairchild for the first time Sat-Mon, 7-9 July. We had read the reviews, were aware of the previous problems, and experienced much the same as has been recently reported by visitors in July 2007. I went to the Outdoor Rec office Monday the 9th and made several suggestions, alongst them being to place a sign along with a pad of registration slips and a deposit box ON THE WALL OF THE LATRINE BUILDING, and get rid of the post-mounted "Iron Ranger".
Secondly, retain a cadre of volunteer campers who will assume the job of Camp Host as it is at most other military campgrounds...i.e., BE THERE when the Outdoor Rec office is closed, and take the responsibilities seriously...represent the Base Commander, be available, and above all, be responsive and effective. The Space #1 "Camp Host" was indeed a young Lieutenant and spouse...he had an active duty day job and presumably was there during off-duty hours. However, on Saturday and Sunday the host was NOT there. There was an ass't Host, a retired Marine and spouse, who were very helpful, but they also worked fulltime weekdays.....but again, IF the outdoor rec office is open, that's the place to obtain assistance from...otherwise, it is the Camp Host, but they MUST either be there, or be dismissed from their volunteer status. I'm planning on copying these most recent reports and attaching mine, and mailing them to the Commander of the Fairchild Services Suqadron and finding out why this situation persists. It can easily be resolved with some attention from the Services Squadron, IMHO. Otherwise, Fairchild is a great base! Good Commissary and BX...great outdoor facilities, easy to get to Spokane, good place for running, too. Very clean base. Good selection of sites at the FamCamp, some trees and landscaping would sure help appearance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 20-21, 2007
(Updated: July 22, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
"Heather" answering the phones at Outdoor Rec was clueless when asked what gate RVs should use. However, she transferred my call to the Visitor Center where a squared-away staff person confirmed the commercial gate on Rambo Road was recommended. Alert: use your "other Left" after going through the Rambo gate. The RR tracks will be on your RIGHT, take the first RIGHT over those RR tracks. At the intersection of Hansell & Bong, turn LEFT. Bong will narrow down from 4 lanes to two near the Post Office off to your right. You turn right at the intersection of Seattle then take the next left where Bong continues to it's end at O'Malley. When you cross that intersection it turns into El Paso. The entrance to the FAMCAMP is a sharp right. The newer 50A sites are the two rows to your right and the older 30 amp sites are in the section to your left. I give this FAMCAMP a straight "C" grade because it has so much potential but no evidence that higher-level Base management has any interest in the RVing lifestyle. The campground seems to be the neglected step-child of Outdoor Rec which would rather be doing anything but serving the RVing public. I'm still grateful for the 50Amp full hook-up pull-thrus and the $15 nightly rate but, sadly, this campground is nowhere near the superior facilities I've enjoyed at other military bases (see all my reviews). We were greeted shortly after taking a vacant spot by a friendly lady who stated she "helps out" when the camp hosts weren't there. She even went out of her way to bring us a self-registration envelope which I later filled out, put a check into, and deposited in the "Iron Ranger". I decided to cut short our visit here after we previewed a first-class RV resort in Deer Park, WA. For now, this FAMCAMP is still adequate for a short stay but for a week or longer I'm willing to pay twice the price somewhere else so long as it includes even a hint of the VIP treatment we all hope our money will buy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Still here as of 8 July 2007
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I have stayed here many times over the last few years, and agree with reviews by thunderegg and OldWeb... The so called 'Old Camp Host(s)' still in space 1 are a total joke. They don't appear to really do anything except leave a 'We are gone for the day, come back tomorrow' type messages on their whiteboard. The only time there actually seems to be anything being done around the camp is what the 'New Camp Host(s)' have "The Con", and for the fact of the matter, they actually appear to do more on their off days that the 'Old Hosts' have done in the combined days we have been here this year (which has been the vast majority of the year thus far). I have also heard that the 'Old Host' is an Active Duty Lt in the Air Force here on the base, and to add insult to the injury being inflicted on this Fam Camp, he has 'family ties' with the senior leadership aboard this base. Does anyone else know the word 'NEPOTISM"? I would like to see someone look into this because WE are suffering due to it. If this is true, this could be the only explaination for these people being kept on the payroll as I know many of us have complained about the lack of cleanliness of the shower and laundry room. The first time the showers didn't have mold in the corners was when the New Hosts covered for them for a few days in June. Also, when the Old Hosts DO clean the bathrooms, it seems that Pine Sol is splashed around the floors and it is considered by them to be clean, which it really isn't. As I am writing this, the 'New Host' wife is cleaning the laundry room on an off-day, and it has not been cleaned since the last time she did it the middle of last week. The new hosts have also actually taken an interest in trying to irrigate the facility and green up the spaces (which the old host has basically either refused to do or is too lazy) which has in turn gotten some of us 'long-term' campers to become more involved to help around our spaces. As for the 'never answering the door when campers try to check in', I personally have viewed this many times. I also have personally watched campers pull in, not able to find the 'host', hookup, stay and leave early WITHOUT PAYING as there was no one here to greet them and collect when there are new arrivals. The 'New Hosts' seem to be trying to 'Meet and Greet' EVERYONE, help them locate spaces, answer questions, give local directions and actually DO WHAT A CAMP HOST SHOULD DO, not be greeted after a long trip with a sign telling you to 'Use The Iron Ranger!! I feel this needs to be said and everyone made aware of what they are coming into. The best you can hope for is to arrive when the New Host is 'On Duty' and you should enjoy your stay. Oh yeah, if you DO get the 'Use The Iron Ranger' treatment and think there should be more, please complain to Services on the ICE email system (The Outdoor Rec Director Damian Smith) or there is now a complaint box in the laundry room, which the Camp Host has a key for.... The facilities on the base are adequate and I understand that there may actually be wireless internet later this month which will be a real plus and would still like to see cable here as it's either bring your own satellite or go to an antenna.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
17 APR 07 - 04 JUN 07
(Updated: July 09, 2007)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
It's a shame the way this "cash cow" is being treated ! The weeds continue to grow and add all the bugs too. The men's room has one shower working ( the other has been out of order all year ). The common use building seems to be cleaned once a week or so------not enough. The irrigation in the area has been broken since last year and will not be fixed. I guess Services will milk this cow until it dies but not put a dime back into it.----Update, they have hired someone to mow the area and provided soaker hoses if you want to grow the grass. Area looks a lot better.---Update 2,30JUN07, New washer and dryers add to the value. A Co Host who does a better job of looking after the area has been added.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 15-18, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Appreciated reviews prior to our arrival. Rambo (commerical entrance is about l mile east of main entrance. After entering take left across railroad tracks and follow to Bong then right. Passed on trying to locate host, went directly to Outdoor Recreation office, big yellow building on corner of Doolittle and Bong. Base and city information was obtained there. Tried to eat at mess hall and found a new directive indication that retired and such may only eat on holidays and so forth. Enjoyed shopping at facilities, good burgers at Burger King. Would stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
May 16, 2007
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Left from the Directory software: This famcamp has great potential, but continues to deteriorate. The "Host" is an active duty Lt. stationed here at Fairchild and his wife is a schoolteacher. They do as little as possible and will even refuse to answer their door when campers come seeking info on how to check in. Of course, the section running this campground abuses decent camp hosts to the point where NOBODY will do it more than one season and several have invented reasons to leave before completing their 'contract'. Last year, there were at least five camp hosts in residence at one time and all laughed when asked if they would be willing to do it again, so the base has finally gotten what it has been asking for -- the bottom of the camp host barrel. (One current camper stated that in her opinion, the "hosts" feel the job is "beneath them".) The base constructed an 8-foot high berm around two sides of the famcamp to "enhance the privacy of the occupants." The consensus of the "occupants" is that it is to "hide the trailer trash". It does, however, provide a lot of rocks for the base housing urchins to throw at campers' cars and some windshields have been broken. Very few people spend any time outdoors because sitting in knee-high weeds is very unappealing. The laundry has two washers and two dryers. The dryers leave clothes damp after 45 minutes. The base has a nice BX and Commissary. The Library is very nice and has WiFi. The Hospital was downgraded to a clinic. The VA Medical Center is only about 15 - 20 minutes away and there is easy access to I-90. A recent change was made restricting "large" RV's to entering only through the commercial gate on Rambo Road during Monday to Friday working hours. After hours and on weekends, they are allowed to go through the main gate. (The DOD guards just shake their heads and say, "Hey, this brainstorm wasn't OUR idea!") If they would just put some honest effort into this campground, it could be great. It would also be a money maker. However, nobody at this base with the authority to make the needed changes seems to have the vision necessary. It is really a shame.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 23 06
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
No adequate playing area/playground for kids, but nice concrete bike/scooter path. Host at the time very friendly. Showers and laundry tidy, functional and closeby. Lots of sites near, and base easy to understand/manuever. Recycling in campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Campground has lots of potential but very neglected. Rumor has it that the camp host has several jobs. Couldn't find him on several attempts. Full hookups (50amps) are in good working order.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
A nice campground going downhill from one year to the next through neglect on the part of the Outdoor Rec people running it. Camp Host is part time. Still, a good bargain for the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Still no handouts for any info on what to see or do in the area. But we certainly enjoyed the great paved bike paths circling the whole base. Very quiet laid back military base and felt very safe riding bikes anywhere with our granddaughter. Mess hall is still open to retirees. Granddaughter enjoyed the pool while here. If anyone interested, a sign is up indicating a camp host is needed now.Very nice library with wifi and lots of computers to use. Can even bring in your own laptop and use their wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Consistantly full. Nice walking paths.I rated this park average due to the fact that the laundry is small, the bathrooms were stuffy and small and especially the lack of information when we checked in, no one could even tell us where to find a Walmart or other civilian store with out sending us on a wild goose chase.Better visitor information could be given maybe in the form of paper flyers?? Commissary/BX has detour while roads are bieng resurfaced.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Fairchild is a very unhurried base, well laid out and easy to find everything. Not a 5 star only because the parking pads themselves are very narrow, as is the space between sites, although adequate. Otherwise, an outstanding FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice clean Fam Camp. I give it a rating of four simply because not everyone likes the same things and most expectations differ. Given my personal opinion, there all fives simply because we have the privelege of using them and the facilities associated. Nice AFB with all services. Spokane, Couer D Alene close. Nice dining facility (chow hall) that retirees can use. Wife and I had a great fried chicken lunch with sides and sodas for $2.00 each. Very nice after coming out of Canada $$$$.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2005
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Treeless sites have 50amp. Good place to see area from. Half of sites are treeless, no shade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
75 results - showing 61 - 75
1 2 3 4